Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 19, 2012 ~ bad mom :(

20120619-220208.jpg

Ok, when one kid shows me I can be a good mom the other does the opposite. Well, they are the salt and pepper sisters.

I was giving the girls a bath Saturday night. Ashlin insists on standing now, so you need to keep an extra eye, and hand, on her. I saved her from a few lovely slips. As I was shampooing up Teagan’s hair, she slipped again, hitting the side of her face on the way down.

At first I thought I had broken her cheek, but she buried her head in to shoulder ad I was holding her, shushing her. Stu came up as I was drying her off, he had just come in from mowing the lawn. I told him what happened, the one time my attention was elsewhere for a few moments. He also didn’t think a bone was broken. Well, that did make me feel better. I then joked about how fathers day pictures were going to look wonderful.

We explained to everyone that saw her. To day care, to my parents and sister.

Today is four days later, and it still looks horrible. I’m such a bad mom.

10 Comments »

June 19, 2012

“You an angel momma.” My preschooler greeted me at the door, followed by a big hug.  One of the best ways to come home after a day at work.  After the love and sweetness she quickly asked “Can I have one?”  She wanted one of the Angel Wings I had gotten for a treat and left on the counter in eyesight.  Even though she was home sick, she had eaten pretty well.  “Ok.  One,” as a put a small piece on a plate.  “At the table please.”  Compliance was almost a guarantee, for two minutes, as she was excited with her treat.  To keep her there, Stu needed to turn the movie off.  They were watching Peter Pan, with Teagan was following along with her Little Golden Book.

She was definitely feeling better.

Stu had been keeping me informed with little bits of their day, that she napped, cried before the nap that she didn’t want, went to the store, watched movies.

Turns out that she is not deaf, she does listen, and actually hear some of the stuff we tell her.  And she remembers it too.

Yesterday, after I picked her up from day care, we watched Booty and Beast, aka Beauty & the Beast.  The first scene with the Beast always – still – scares her a bit, and she snuggled up.  I said something, a throw away line about how he was ugly on the outside and the inside.  A bit later, during Gaston’s song, she said “him not nice.”  “No, sweetie, he’s pretty on the outside, but ugly on the inside, like the Beast, but the Beast learns what’s important, which is being pretty on the inside, and that breaks the witches spell, and makes him pretty on the outside too.”  I really hadn’t thought she heard the conversation, let alone understand it.

Stu and she were watching Booty and Beast today, and she tells him that “him look like a man, but him beast too.”   Reading that update made my heart sing.  So happy.  She’s such a sweet girl.

6 Comments »