Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 19, 2012 ~ bad mom :(

on June 19, 2012

20120619-220208.jpg

Ok, when one kid shows me I can be a good mom the other does the opposite. Well, they are the salt and pepper sisters.

I was giving the girls a bath Saturday night. Ashlin insists on standing now, so you need to keep an extra eye, and hand, on her. I saved her from a few lovely slips. As I was shampooing up Teagan’s hair, she slipped again, hitting the side of her face on the way down.

At first I thought I had broken her cheek, but she buried her head in to shoulder ad I was holding her, shushing her. Stu came up as I was drying her off, he had just come in from mowing the lawn. I told him what happened, the one time my attention was elsewhere for a few moments. He also didn’t think a bone was broken. Well, that did make me feel better. I then joked about how fathers day pictures were going to look wonderful.

We explained to everyone that saw her. To day care, to my parents and sister.

Today is four days later, and it still looks horrible. I’m such a bad mom.

10 responses to “June 19, 2012 ~ bad mom :(

  1. Kat says:

    bumps are ‘common’ in the family :-) sending smooches for healing….and you’re NOT a bad mom.

    • lisasff says:

      This one seems quite prone to the bumps and bruises. Teagan always had a few, always. But somehow hers never seemed as bad as Ashlin’s are.

      I think it was kinda funny that it was right before Father’s Day, and also that we ended up telling day care about it as soon as we could. LOL.

      • Kat says:

        :-) It’s always scary though when you have to ‘explain’ the bruises, etc….so much child abuse these days that someone might think that…..especially at the dr’s offices. I would hate for them to have seen my kid when he was little. LOL

        • lisasff says:

          I know! There’s always the fear of CPS being called for something that was honestly no one’s fault. Ugh.

          It’s nice to know that other mom’s have the same fear too :D Though it’s unfortunate that we did/do.

  2. Kris A says:

    What’s up with the sick babies?
    I used to worry at Thomas’ well baby check ups because he was always covered in bruises. i would start making excuses as soon as they undressed him! However, when they saw him climbing everything in sight they quickly understood!

    • lisasff says:

      Sick babies are making each other sick. And them making everyone else sick :(

      I always worry at the doctor’s visits too, probably sound guilty giving all the excuses about how she slipped here, fell there. Teagan always ran into doors and doorframes. Ash so far seems to get head wounds.

  3. you’re not a bad mom! If she likes to climb maybe it’s too much to have both in the tub at the same time? I don’t know how you do that… getting my one just to sit down sometimes is hard.

    • lisasff says:

      Usually my husband and I do bath time. I’ll get Ashlin taken care of, and then he will take over with Teagan. Teagan get a bit too enthusiastic in the tub for Ashlin to stay too long. Also, Ashlin is usually super tired by bath time too, so I take her out after 10 minutes or so.

  4. Oh man. Thanks for sharing this. Charlotte wants to stand all the time now too and I’ve just started letting her. I let myself thing she’ll be fine b/c she is so steady so this was a good reality check for me. Sorry she got hurt. :(

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah. It’s so hard to keep them sitting though. Especially when you do the two at once. Alone. Oh well. I may get some anti-slip appliques to put on the bottom around where the mat goes. Or, just be sure to not bathe the two alone again, until Ashlin’s older and will be able to play quietly while I take care of her sister’s hair.

      :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

