Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 20, 2012

on April 20, 2012

Look what I made – finished – today!  One for each girl.

I did a blend of this design and this one.  Just need to hang them and we’re good to go! Frames were super-sale with coupon from Michaels.  Material was quilting pre-cuts from Joanne, along with a bit of ribbon.  Pretty easy.

I haven’t shown the girls yet, I”m sure Teagan will be very happy.  She did pick the material out for both hers and for Ashlin’s.

 

 

 

 

First thing to do was attach the batting.  I glued each corner down so it wouldn’t slip.

Batting

Then I centered the material to the frame backing, using a bit of tape.

tape

Then I used a glue gun to affix the material to the backing, making sure the material stayed tight.

Hot glue

I then laid out the ribbon, playing with order and spacing.

ribbon!

I did use a bit of tape to secure the ribbons before I turned it over to hot glue them to the backing too.  I tried to keep these taut too, and evenly spaced.

gluing ribbons

Finished boards before going back into the frames.

almost done

And back in the frames.

All done!

I can’t wait to see how Teagan likes her pink ribbon board!  It will be the first pink thing in her room.  The first of many, I think.


6 responses to “April 20, 2012

  1. Stu says:

    They look really good – I especially like the green one.

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you. :) Teagan picked out nice material. I think the pink will look pretty good in her room too.

  2. Kris A says:

    When do you find the time to do this stuff? I am barely keeping my head above water with working and the kids activities!

    • lisasff says:

      Well, we haven’t gotten too involved in the activities yet, though that’s coming, and coming fast…

      Sometimes I can get some stuff done while on conference calls… I’ll listen and reply while my hands are doing something else.

  3. Kris A says:

    How often can you work from home?

    • lisasff says:

      I’ve been very lucky to be able to work from home two days a week. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to much longer, but it does help things around the house a bit that I can – it’s two hours more in the house than if I went into the office. You can get a lot done in two hours.

Please Share Your Thoughts