Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 6, 2012

A Girl With Glasses

I need glasses.  What I had been hoping was just a lingering side effect of pregnancy and eternal fatigue is something more.  Working on the computer has created eye strain, weakening eye muscles. Or, in other words, I’m getting old, and need reading glasses.

The optometrist said that I may not need them all day, all the time, but that I will feel less tired at the end of the day if I use them while working on the computer.  My eyes will feel better.

I had hoped he would say it was nothing that more sleep and some eye drops would fix.  Nope.

As my eyes were dilating, the eye-glass person helped me find some frames that looked good.  There was a pile of about five frames to choose from.  I sent pictures to Stu to see if he had an opinion.  Google+ messenger didn’t deliver them.  No input from him.  But there was a nice lady who was picking up her new glasses that helped me narrow down the selection.

WIth her help, I ended up deciding on a pair that I had picked up on a whim, thinking that they would be horrible.  They were olive green and had some bling on the sides.  They were actually the best ones of the bunch.  I had though that the green would be my Sally Jesse Red, but they worked.  Unfortunately that were super expensive.  More expensive than glorified reading glasses needed to be.  The sales person helped me find a pair that were half the price, sans bling, that were almost the same.

These glasses.

I think I’ll be ordering them on Monday.  Maybe by then my eyes will have returned to normal.  They’re still dilated.

8 Comments »