Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 6, 2012

on April 6, 2012

A Girl With Glasses

I need glasses.  What I had been hoping was just a lingering side effect of pregnancy and eternal fatigue is something more.  Working on the computer has created eye strain, weakening eye muscles. Or, in other words, I’m getting old, and need reading glasses.

The optometrist said that I may not need them all day, all the time, but that I will feel less tired at the end of the day if I use them while working on the computer.  My eyes will feel better.

I had hoped he would say it was nothing that more sleep and some eye drops would fix.  Nope.

As my eyes were dilating, the eye-glass person helped me find some frames that looked good.  There was a pile of about five frames to choose from.  I sent pictures to Stu to see if he had an opinion.  Google+ messenger didn’t deliver them.  No input from him.  But there was a nice lady who was picking up her new glasses that helped me narrow down the selection.

WIth her help, I ended up deciding on a pair that I had picked up on a whim, thinking that they would be horrible.  They were olive green and had some bling on the sides.  They were actually the best ones of the bunch.  I had though that the green would be my Sally Jesse Red, but they worked.  Unfortunately that were super expensive.  More expensive than glorified reading glasses needed to be.  The sales person helped me find a pair that were half the price, sans bling, that were almost the same.

These glasses.

I think I’ll be ordering them on Monday.  Maybe by then my eyes will have returned to normal.  They’re still dilated.

8 responses to “April 6, 2012

  1. Lori says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “See what reading all those books for all these years does to you? : )”

  2. Wendy says:

    Wendy B* S* commented on your post.

    Wendy wrote: “Bummer. Not something lasix can fix again is it? If it makes you feel any better, I think I need to have mine checked too, and Michelle mentioned hers the other day. We’ll all be coming along for the ride! :)”

    • Lori says:

      Lori wrote: “Damn… does this mean I have something else to dread for next year or 2? lol…”

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks. I didn’t ask, but I don’t think so. It’s not enough of a correction, and it’s only for reading. I think that if it was more, or worse, than maybe it would be something to talk about. Distance vision is still 20/20.

      Yeah, I know part is aging – NOT US! – but some of it is also being on a computer all day, all night. And the phone, and the ipad… and the kindle. So much of our lives are now electronic and back lit…

      Sounds like I’ll be riding along with the best of them!

  3. Kris A says:

    I had to get no line bifocals last year because I couldn’t read textbooks when I was teaching. I didn’t need magnification at that point, just less distance prescription in the bottom half, but they are not working very well anymore. I think I need actual reading glasses! Rich has glasses now too, especially for the computer. This being in your 40’s is not for the faint of heart!!! When did this all happen?? Can you believe that next month I will be married 20 years? Only OLD people are married that long!!!

    • lisasff says:

      Well, considering I was blind as a bat before the LASIK, and have been correction free for over a decade, I’m not too unhappy. It would be nice to not need them at all. I will only need them “a little.”

      Also, thought, it would be nice to not be getting older….

Please Share Your Thoughts

