Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 23, 2014 ~ She’s Got Leg Warmers!

on February 23, 2014

Leg Warmers

Yesterday, I posted a picture of Ashlin wearing her leg warmers. Finally!  She was so excited to be wearing knickers, and asked to wear a dress too.  I found this lovely hand-me-down dress, which gave me the opportunity to tell her she needed to wear her leg warmers.  No arguments!

She was super excited as we put them on, though some of that was thanks to the knickers with birdies on them.

The pattern was super easy – Pickles Leg Warmers.  I used the pink yarn that Ashlin had picked out on one of the Michael’s runs we did.  It’s the Elegance Sock Yarn by Loops & Threads in the Pretty Pink colorway.  The pattern called for two strands of fingering yarn, so this DK weight worked pretty well.

Beginning

By the time I started these, I was old hat at the double pointed needles.  Three, of course.

I liked this pattern, it started with a 1 x 1 rib, then a few increases and bunch of stockinette.  A long stretch of stockinette.  Ending with a 2 x 2 rib and a stretchy bind-off, that I learned I needed with the version I did for Teagan.

Half?

The first was pretty quick, the second, well… But I finished them!

And she liked them!

She said they kept her legs warm, even during our walk. She was so sad when we got home and she had to take them off, she had inadvertently gotten mud on them.  All the melting snow and puddles of icky water did her in.

But she had fun having a snow fight!

Snow fight!

6 responses to “February 23, 2014 ~ She’s Got Leg Warmers!

  1. Kat says:

    Wow….I should have known you knitted those!! I don’t know what I was thinking. HA HA They are lovely and I’m sure she appreciated them a lot during the outing. The melting snow is always ucky… Hope the melting doesn’t cause more problems.

    • lisasff says:

      Heh. Thank you! Ashlin was sad back when I started Teagan’s leg warmers, and as I was/am working my way to full blown socks, I couldn’t see why not to make her a set.

      This morning, she saw them sitting on the side of the stairs, wanted to wear them. I pointed out the mud, and she got sad. I told her they would clean up just fine. I’ll be sure to put them in the next wash, just so they can be clean again for her. :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

