Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 12, 2014 ~ Chicken Donuts From the Orange Store

on February 12, 2014

This one

This one.

She isn’t always an easy one, but she’s pretty good.  Right on the edge of the terrible three’s, she still loves snugging, and rocking – usually! – before bed.  Last night we had an awesome chat.  It went something like this:

Me:  Did you have a good day at day care?
Ashlin:  Yes!  We did imagination story.  And puppets!
Me:  Puppets?
A:  Yeah.  And cupcakes!  We had cupcakes for H*’s birthday today.
Me:  Oh, that’s nice.  Were they good cupcakes?
A:  Yeah.
Me:  Do you miss H*? (H* has moved up to the three’s)
A:  Yeah.  I poop on potty at day care.
Me:  Tomorrow?
A:  Yeah.  I poop on potty.  At day care.  Tomorrow.
Me:  That’s awesome!  Will you pee too?
A:  Yeah.  I do pee-pees on potty.  Wear flower underwear.
Me:  You pee and poop on the potty, you can wear whatever underwear you want.
A:  Me go chicken doughnut store?  Eat in store?
Me:  Yes.  You go pee and poop on the potty, no accidents, we can go in and eat there.
A:  Me have no accidents, we eat chicken doughnuts, stay at store to eat.  We go orange store?
Me:  Orange store?  Sure, we can go get Popeye’s
 

And wouldn’t you know it?  She did poop on the potty.  No pee accidents either.  One small poop accident, that she was very upset about.  Her teacher (who I told about the orange chicken doughnut store) said that as soon as she realized she had had the accident, she broke out in tears, wailing about not getting chicken doughnuts from the orange store.

Stu ended up picking them up late – he misunderstood my message about my not being out on time, that he should go – so they came home.  She was crying, she told me through wails and tears that she had pooped in the potty.  I told her that we owed her chicken doughnuts, she had earned them fair and square.  But since I had to work late we’d go tomorrow.  We couldn’t do chicken doughnuts without me!  This seemed to calm her down enough for us to lavish praise on her.

She was so proud of herself.  I was so proud of her.

She said she’d poop on the potty again, tomorrow.

I love this one.

4 responses to “February 12, 2014 ~ Chicken Donuts From the Orange Store

  1. Kat says:

    Hip Hip Hooray….Chicken orange doughnuts whatever…yah. Way to go Ashlin. I loved the chat!!

    • lisasff says:

      LOL! Today, well, there was a lot of snow, and not as much luck. We still owe her chicken nuggets from Popeye’s :D

      She’s awesome at bedtime. We rock and chat for a bit about her day. Then she’ll tell me she’s all done rocking and wants to be in bed. LOVE bedtime with this one.

      • Kat says:

        Enjoy and cherish those times, they’ll soon be few. I loved making a ‘rocking’ time with my son on the weekends when it was just for cuddling and not to put him to sleep. Such a precious time to get to really know a child.

        • lisasff says:

          I know. I lost out on it quickly enough with Teagan – my lap disappeared! Stu took over her bedtime. Ashlin has grown so much that she doesn’t tuck under my chin any more. She’s very sweet then though, a minute or two of rocking, a few questions, and then she’s ready and will tell you to put her in bed. And out she goes. Love it. And I *know* we’re so lucky with that.

Please Share Your Thoughts

