Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 19, 2014 ~ Boat

on January 19, 2014

Two girls in a boat

Today was a pretty good day.  The girls were good, and this helped.  While I snuck a morning nap in the living room, they played nicely in the playroom.

Stu was also in the living room, not sitting in the dining room keeping half an eye on them as he usually does when he works on Sundays.  But he was listening to them play.  They ended up pulling almost all their toys down, out of the bins, shelves, and put them into a pile.  This is where their baby dolls, (Peaches and Baby, though sometimes she’s also Peaches,) were hiding, and safe.

They will need to help clean it up.  Tomorrow.  Today was too busy!

After her nap, I took Ashlin to the store to get eggs and flour.  We were going to make cookies!  And cheeseburgers.  She requested cheeseburgers for dinner.  I ended up making meatloaf.  Close enough!

I sent them both up/Stu took them up for some quiet time and another nap while I set up the cookie stuff.  Pulled out the mixer, the ingredients.  Pre-measured everything.  I did leave the flour in the sifter, thinking maybe Teagan would be ok sifting it.  She had a bit of trouble with the side to side of the sifter.  Maybe if I had one of the crank ones, she wouldn’t have.  Oh well.

Ashlin was a bit fearful of the stand mixer, too loud.  But she found courage by the time we needed to add the chocolate chips!  Teagan broke an egg, and did a pretty good job for her first egg.  Ashlin didn’t want to.  She just watched for a bit.  They had a pretty good time dumping things into the mixer, or watching them go in.  Teagan had a hard time not touching the stuff in pots and jars – she got flour all over the table, her hands, herself.

I tried hard to not get too worked up, too stressed out, but there were a few times that I didn’t do so well.  I took over a few times, told them – when I should have asked them – to watch for a step.  I need to remember that they really don’t know anything about cooking, and are very eager to learn, to explore.  They don’t know not to take a bite of the stick of butter, or taste the flour, or pour it all in at once, or why they need to be sure to sift over a bowl.  I need to remember this and try not to freak out.  I’ll get better.  They’ll get better, and more patient, or obedient.  Still, it was fun.

They weren’t very interested in dropping the cookies on the tray, but it could be the double spoon method we had to do.  I don’t have a fancy scoop yet.  But I’ll get one.  For next time.  There will be a next time.

While I scooped out and baked nearly 6.5 dozen cookies, they played in a box.  Their boat.  Quietly “reading” and looking at Highlights magazine.  Well after they got in trouble for trying to play in the kitchen while I was finishing up the cookies and dinner.  Touching everything, hot cookie sheets, oven, pots.  Gah.

Still, mostly a good day.  With cookies.  Peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies.

Cool!

PS. Stu is still humming “Let it Go.” Ha ha ha.

8 responses to “January 19, 2014 ~ Boat

  1. Kat says:

    Maybe Stu was telling you to ‘let it go’….when flour was sifted over the table, not the bowl, etc. :) Sounded like a fun day regardless of the mishaps. Yummy cookies, wish I had some of them. HAHA

    • lisasff says:

      heh. I’ve been trying to “let it go” more often. I was very proud of myself last night, after I noticed Teagan’s whiskers. I was calm and matter of fact, no raised voice, no admonishing. Yay for me!

      • Kat says:

        seeeeee…..you can ‘let it go’. :) Great job, btw with the cat’s whiskers episode.

        • lisasff says:

          :D

          I try!! Some things are easier than others! She tipped her chair over because she was sitting on the arm. Hurt herself a little bit, surprised herself, she wasn’t expecting it to slip out. I had told her before not to sit on the arm, but she hadn’t listened. After she stood up, I calmly asked if she was going to sit on the arms of the chair again. Nope. She hasn’t since… but she may need a second learning opportunity. She’s stubborn! LOL.

          • Kat says:

            Stubborn or just curious as to what can/can’t be done and how far can she push mommy?? :) They will test….and it is only a test. You still have to love them for their adventurous attitudes.

            • lisasff says:

              Maybe? I’m sure she has no idea about half the consequences/reactions to her actions. She doesn’t really think through in the moment. Half a day later she will revisit what happened and draw hypotheses and conclusions. Some are really funny. I need to be better at getting them down.

Please Share Your Thoughts

