Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 23, 2013 ~ Lacy and Lovey

on October 23, 2013
IMG_2954

Lacy Blanket and Lovey

Not too long ago my mom and I were out shopping and she started looking at boy clothes.  I reminded her that we had two girls, no boys.  She told me that one of her friends daughters had/was having a baby boy.  At the time, I had very little in a project queue, so I offered to crochet her a blanket as a gift.  All she needed to do was buy the yarn and I’d crochet it up and have it ready for her in the next few weeks – we were going to be seeing them in three weeks.

So, she picked out yarn. I sent her a few pictures of possible patterns for the blanket and she picked the Lacy Crochet Baby Blanket.  A lovely pattern, and an easy repeat.  Just the right sort of project to work on at night, tired, on the sofa.

IMG_2791

First round

I ended up starting with a 168 crochet chain with a 4mm hook, though the pattern designer suggested using a smaller hook than called for – she suggested a 1mm hook, which I didn’t have.  Mom picked out a lovely Loops & Threads baby yarn – Snuggly Wuggly baby denim marl – with a very interesting mottled pattern.

The blanket worked up fast – in just about a week, give or take a few days.  As the lace pattern worked up, I kept seeing fish or arrow heads in the chains and clusters.  So fun!

IMG_2847

Blocking

Once I had the body of the blanket done, I blocked it.  As it was a gift, I wanted to be sure the blanket corners were as square as I could make them, before starting the border.  I was very happy I picked the gingham to cover the towels I put on the dining table for my makeshift blocking board.  Even though it was a thin pattern – 1/4 inch strips – it was still enough for me to block the blanket square.  The blanket before being blocked wasn’t too off kilter, but the blocking definitely helped.

IMG_2952

Crab Stitch border

The border was pretty quick, I chose to use a white to give it a defining finish.  I’ve never done a crab stitch or a single crochet between stitches, so that was fun.  Crab stitch is a bit awkward at first, but eventually it got a bit easier to crochet backwards.

The last two times I’ve done baby blankets, I’ve knit up a hat with the remaining yarn to gift with them, to make a set.  This time, I wanted to do something different.  My girls loved their little flat loveys, so I thought I’d make one.  A knit one.

Again, thanks to Ravelry, I found an easy knit pattern.  Easy is relative, I still needed to figure out a few things, but it wasn’t too far of a stretch.  Lutin is the name of the pattern, and the pdf was in French!  Um…  my French is good, but knitting?  I knew a few words, but not enough technical language to know what was going on.  Thankfully, someone else translated it!

IMG_2870

Half a Lovey

I worked it flat, as the pattern called, though if I do this again, I will at least do the head and hat in the round. (I now have DPN’s under my belt!).  This was the first time I put stitches on a holder and worked other parts of a project.  Interesting.  Also, I realize that I totally need to use my counter – I ended up miscounting the second side and the arms were a bit shorter.  Oops.  At least I was able to hide it once it was sewn up and knotted.

The biggest challenge, other than counting consistently, was to sew it up.  I hate sewing!  The pattern recommended a mattress stitch, which I had no idea how to do.  I found a few helpful sites on the net (thank goodness for the internet!).  I have to admit, seeing how the mattress stitch worked was very cool.  Not cool enough to get me to get this sewn together in less than 4 days.  But eventually, I did get it finished.

I did run out of yarn by the time I got to the legs on the second piece.  I just finished it up with white.  So, he has some white pants and a white hat.  No biggie.  

I think I will do at least one more, even though there is so much sewing.  I think he turned out pretty cute.

IMG_2919

Three out of four!

IMG_2950

C’est Fini!

 

12 responses to “October 23, 2013 ~ Lacy and Lovey

  1. Gorgeous, I am sure both your mum and the recipient will love it. I love Lovey too, what a simple but effective idea and great for using up some left over yarn.

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you!! I do like doing something with the left over bits from the yarn. Something coordinating… up til this it’s been a hat, which takes a bit less yarn than the lovey did.

      BTW, I peeked at your blog, and you have some LOVELY things!

  2. What a pretty afghan and the “lovey” is the perfect touch. I made one for my Cousin’s baby a while back. Super fun to knit. Cute blog!

  3. Kat W says:

    Awwww….this baby boy will be cuddled in style and with his very own Lovey…This is a very nice way to use up left over yarn and make a ‘set’ for a gift item…would be great as the decoration on the package??

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah. I like doing something “extra.” The hats are fun, maybe I’ll try some booties next time :D I’m not sure how my mom wrapped it up. Hopefully she did something cute!

  4. […] October 23, 2013 ~ Lacy and Lovey (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Schnibblyz says:

    Hi question… I wanted to knit this very cute doll but my french is quite awfull…. So I was wondering if you still had this translation? It would really help me….

  6. […] (not had!) a baby boy.  I got a skein of that lovely blue denim marl yarn that I used for the lacy crochet blanket.  Wanting a pattern that would be easy enough to do while watching tv at night, I googled […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

