Whatever!

What to muse about today?

September 24, 2013 ~ Big Buttons!

on September 24, 2013
Buttons

Big Button Wrap

I finished this wrap the other night.   Using some lovely yarn a friend gave me, I made her a little something.  She’s been having a rough time lately, and needed a little picking up.  Besides, she loved this yarn enough to pick it out in the first place.

It was a bit weird at first using this Lumpy Bumpy yarn was a bit odd.  I’ve never knit – or crocheted – with anything this thick before.  Having the yarn go from very thin to thick took a bit of getting used to.  It was fun watching how the yarn worked up, too.  Sometimes the thick bits alternated with the thin, sometimes they stacked.  One way or the other, the yarn was very nice to work with.

I would work on this project when I was too tired to work on the shawl I was also working on.  Since the yarn I was using was so textured in itself, I just swapped out the lovely stitch in this pattern to a simpler stockinette.  Still, it didn’t take too long to knit almost 60 inches.

Once done, it got a slight blocking, big buttons sewn on and brought into the office to give away.  My friend was so happy, she loved it!  I love that she loved it!

Done!  #knit #lumpybumpy

On a model :)

10 responses to “September 24, 2013 ~ Big Buttons!

  1. Kat W says:

    Lovely. I do like the yarn. I’ve never crocheted with something like that. I’m glad that you enjoyed making it and since it was a ‘labor of love’ and well accepted made it even better. You’re awesome.

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you!! I’m quite pleased with it… even with the weirdness the yarn had…

      And to top it off, and make me feel even better, one of the knitters in the office had a mistake in a lace shawl she was knitting and I was able to fix it for her! She’s been knitting for 20 years or so… Made me feel just 10 feet tall!

  2. Is that Stu modeling it? Oh please let it be Stu.

  3. […]  I couldn’t work on it when I was tired.  Or distracted.  But that was ok, I worked on the Big Button Wrap when I couldn’t think enough to do the shawl.  Working on it start-stop like that, it took […]

  4. […] knit one is very similar to the Big Button Wrap, but with slightly different dimensions.  Still, fun to watch the color and texture variations […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

