Whatever!

What to muse about today?

September 18, 2013 ~ Falling in Toilets

on September 18, 2013

So bigToday, our big girl fell into the toilet. She was standing on it.

Yeah.

So.  Turns out that she and a friend were fighting over who could use it, and she decided to stand on the rim while the other girl was trying to sit.  Teagan may have had her pants down, I’m not sure.  Anyway, the other girl was pushing back on Teagan, trying to sit down and Teagan lost her balance.  On her way down, she scraped her leg on the toilet paper holder and one foot ended up in the bowl.

A huge scrape.  Bigger than a Disney bandaid.  One that the director felt I needed to be forewarned about, just in case I freaked out when I saw the gauze on my daughter’s leg.

At first she didn’t want to tell the teachers what happened, she was worried she’d get in trouble.

Okaaay.

Eventually she “fessed up” and told the teacher about the need to be the one to use that particular toilet, what she did and how she scraped her leg.  Both girls were spoken to, but neither got in trouble or were yelled at.

On the ride home, Stu asked her why she did it.  She replied that she thought it was a good idea.  This is probably the first time she’s given an actual answer and not just said “I don’t know.”

Our baby is getting so big.  So grown up.

It would be nice if she didn’t stand on toilet seats any more though.

11 responses to “September 18, 2013 ~ Falling in Toilets

  1. Colleen says:

    Colleen D* G* commented on a link you shared.

    Colleen wrote: “Oh My.. could been a serious injury.. glad she is okay.. aside from the leg scrape.. they learn from these things we hope..”

    • lisasff says:

      Today, she showed off her 10 inch bandage to the teachers that weren’t there yesterday, who were amazed that such a big scrape happened there. I’m sure they were trying hard not to laugh when she said she learned a big lesson – don’t stand on toilets!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Mechugna commented on a link you shared.

    Cheryl wrote: “How do you paint the ceiling in the bathroom – or in our case reach anything higher than 6 feet – without standing on the seat?

    • Colleen says:

      Colleen wrote: “Ladder…??”

      • lisasff says:

        LOL Colleen! I know that sometimes I’ll put the lid down for something quick, like hanging the curtain rod, but I’ve always had seats that wiggle so I never liked doing that. Cheryl, this was at day care, so a toilet with no lid… and I’m not sure how you can “save” a toilet from someone by STANDING on it… I’d think sitting on it would keep people away a little bit better :)

  3. Kathy W says:

    It was difficult to read this without laughing…:) however, I’m glad that no further injury was incurred by her or the other girl. I somehow pictured Ethel & Lucy….

    Bless her heart, it did seem like a good idea AT THE TIME. :-) Yay Teagan for being able to answer with something other than “I don’t know”….my kids had to pay part of their allowance each time that answer was spoken, of course they were older than T when I imposed that.

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, I think it must have been very Ethel & Lucy! And totally funny, wound aside.

      It was awesome that she thought it through, and thought it was a good idea. Unfortunately, she only has a 4 year old experience, so had no idea how not a good idea it was. But she’s growing up. That type of logical thinking from her is awesome.

      Maybe we should try charging a “coin-y” for every time she says “I don’t know”…. interesting idea

  4. Oh sorry but I laughed too! I found out the hard way that it isn’t a good idea to walk along the top of fences. You live and learn…

    • lisasff says:

      And my sister not to stand on rocking horses.

      It is kinda funny, if you take out the huge scrape. She stopped in the doorway of day care to show off her 10 inch bandage! LOL!

  5. Kris says:

    Kristine A* commented on a link you shared.

    Kristine wrote: “Oh my….she is lucky she wasn’t more seriously hurt..and that she didn’t wet her pants on the way down.”

    • lisasff says:

      Kris, I know!! she could have broken a leg or wrist or something. She did get a wet shoe, but thankfully it turns out, was wearing a dress

Please Share Your Thoughts

