Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 21, 2013

on June 21, 2013
'Shroom!  #mushroom #garden

‘Shroom!

I got a bit of time to play in the garden today. I tried to clear one of the front flower beds, set the Belgian blocks that we got to line the bed with, pull out some of the red root around the autumn olive.  I got most of the way to the olive, which needs a big and hard prune.

Walking to dump the weeds into the forest behind the house, I saw this lovely little ‘shroom.  There were three or four little patches of them there.  At least two different types.  The purple ones were a bit smushed.

I checked on the sunflowers, there’s one more seedling that’s sprouted up.  Fingers crossed that there’s at least one more tomorrow!

I also pulled out the poison ivy that was impinging into a section of the back yard.  Poison ivy isn’t one of the plants I’d like to keep in the garden, especially where the girls may wander.

The day was finished planting some basil and parsley seeds in some pots.  Hopefully the first day of summer isn’t too late in the season to start those by seed.  Container gardens with fresh herbs are wonderful.  I never seem to keep basil alive inside over the winter, no matter how I pamper the pants.  Nor parsley.

Dirt therapy is wonderful.

 Purple One!

3 responses to “June 21, 2013

  1. Kathy W says:

    You definitely made ‘use’ of the first day of summer!!! Sounds like you had a great therapy session. :-) They purple mushroom is interesting. Don’t know that I’ve ever seen one. The other on is almost delicate looking. You have a great eye when it comes to photos. And a question==Belgian blocks? Are those what your ‘cover’ picture is? I assumed it was like bricks and I love the rainbow effect they have.
    Oh and the sunflowers will probably all come up….just not as fast as ‘us’ kids would like. :-)

  2. Kate says:

    Yay!! Looks great. I’m so jealous? How’d you finagle the time? I got 30 minutes in the garden WHILE watching a 3 year old, a baby, and a dog. It was less than productive. I really want a planting calendar app (did we talk about this??) that will pop up and remind me “Plant tulips this week!” Or “time for basil!” So far I have not found an app for that. :/

    • lisasff says:

      Summer hours! I get very little done when the girls are around.

      That would be an awesome app! I need to see what’s around

Please Share Your Thoughts

