Whatever!

What to muse about today?

May 13, 2013

on May 13, 2013

Wow. Where has the time gone? It’s been so busy lately, and whatever free time I’ve had has been spent with some yarn. The non-sick free time, that is. I was laid low for about a week with some fatiguing tummy bug.  Good side was that I lost six pounds in a week.  Shame that once I started eating again too much came back.  Oh well.

I did finish the shawl I was working on, and was able to block it in enough time to give it to my mom on Mother’s Day:

blocking the shawl

Blocking the shawl on the dining room table

Blocking really helped the shawl – the detailing really came out once I pined it on the table.  I cheated a bit, and used a towel under some gingham material that was clamped to the table.  It worked wonders.  I would have liked a bigger checker pattern, but they didn’t have any material at the store when I went.  The smaller grid will work, it’ll just be a bit more difficult to block too.

I am almost done with the straps on Ashlin’s car blanket.  I should finish tonight.  They even have button holes!  Once that’s done, I’ll move on to either Teagan’s car blanket or the one for Ashlin’s bed.

More tomorrow, once I get this car blanket done.  I really want it to be done.  There’s also a draft or two that need fleshing out, finishing…

14 responses to “May 13, 2013

  1. You’ve come such a long way with your knitting in such a short time. Your Mum is going to love this! It’s gorgeous.

  2. Kathy W says:

    Wow is right!! What a beautiful shawl. Mom is indeed a special lady to receive such a wonderfully handmade gift. Happy Mom’s Day to her and to you!! Hope the ‘sick’ bug is gone for good and that you had a good day on Sunday. Hugs.

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you! It was fun to do! And she loved it!

      PS. Have been feeling much better this past week, though tired. Does the tired ever go away?

      • Kathy W says:

        From the sickness or from being a full time mom, wife, outside home worker, etc?? :-) The tiredness from being a mom last about 20 odd years. HA HA the others, well depends, just saying. :-)

        • lisasff says:

          Great. I don’t need to know that this is going to be the never-ending-fatigue. Sigh.

          • Kathy W says:

            :-) but well worth it! You’ll find ways to ‘relax’ even in the toughest turmoil –it comes with ‘experience’. Hang in there.

            • lisasff says:

              The knitting and crocheting are helping a bit :D

              I’m sure there’ll be different stages of tired and restfulness as they age and go through different periods. A bit more sleep now would be nice though.

  3. ryndice says:

    How lovely! I bet your Mom loved it. Do you have a pattern, or did you make it up?

    • lisasff says:

      Hum… Thought I had commented on this before, but can’t see it! She did and I do! I will write it up soon! It’s been crazy busy here the past week. Now that it’s slower I’ll be able to.

    • lisasff says:

      Ryndice, I wrote up the post last night, it’s my latest post. Hope you enjoy!

  4. […] May 13, 2013 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

