Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 15, 2013

on April 15, 2013
Because I need three WIPs. #knit #blanket on #circular #needles.

Just starting

Wednesday night I started a new project. My third active project. It’s going to be a car blanket for Ashlin. It will roll up and have straps to fasten it.

I thought having a blanket for each girl would be nice for next winter, one that would stay in the car, but be made especially for them.  It also would keep me busy, as well as working on new skills.  In winter, I would always have a blanket in the car, “just in case”.  Even in the summer, we always grab a receiving blanket for them before we go on a longer trip, hoping it helps them nap.

So, I’ll end up making two car blankets.  I’m using a regular worsted yarn (Red Heart Super Saver in watercolor) instead of the Thick and Quick the pattern is made for.  It’s working up quickly enough, and I’m enjoying it.

#knit #blanket #project #progress

Progress at the end of two days

I figured I could double the stitches to compensate for the difference in yarn weight. I couldn’t find enough nifty yarn for two blankets in the T&Q. They do have lovely colors, and I probably could have just done a solid blanket for each girl and been done with it. But I saw this, and thought Ashlin would really like the colors.  Makes me think of Monet and his Waterlilies.

I have yarn for Teagan’s version too, all pinks and browns. Her favorite colors.  So, I think they’ll be happier with them, then if I just picked a pink and a purple.  I may change my mind about that decision before I finish this one.

Gahhhhhh!!  I purled when I should have knit. Or whatever. #frustration #knit #blanket #oops

Oops!

Even though this is an easy pattern, and knitting is still such a new skill, my mind still wanders, and I’ve made a few mistakes.  This is the worst one, for me, anyway.  The purl bumps are on the wrong side!  Other mistakes aren’t quite as apparent as this.  This one would always  be the one thing my eye went to on this blanket.  I had to fix it.  So, I found an awesome video by VeryPinkKnits that gave me enough confidence to actually fix it:

Corrected!  Take that sleepy knitting!  Well, once I set the stitch the right way :)  #knit #corrected #oops #successIt wasn’t too difficult fixing the stitch. For some reason, I naturally put a twist in it as I crocheted it up, so had to redo it. Eh, easy enough. And then I set the stitch backwards, and had to tink out the few I did after putting the loop on the hook.  Then I twisted those.  Gah!  I had not having the knowledge to do what I want to do.  I know soon enough I’ll be able to “see” the pattern, see how the yarn needs to be.  I’ve only been at this for less than a month

Ten inches!  Gettin there!  #knit #blanket

One skein down!

So, now I’ve knit a full skein and needed to join yarn (no russian joins, though I probably could have, or spit splicing with acrylic), and that wasn’t any fun.  But it’s not fun in crochet either.  It would be awesome to have the balls come in just the right length you needed for the project, though probably too unwieldy to carry around.

8 responses to “April 15, 2013

  1. Marge says:

    Marge L* commented on your link.

    Marge wrote: “Great work! I’ve used those Red Heart colors as well for hat. We have such good taste, you & I!”

  2. Kathy W says:

    The color choices are perfect. Yes, water lilies do come to mind when looking at these colors. Ashlin will enjoy it, I’m sure. Can’t wait to see T’s colors too. I think you’re doing remarkable for someone who is still in the ‘learning’ stages of knitting. Beautiful work. As for projects, well I still have scrapbook projects piling up and one on my table that’s been there for 2 months. :-) Guess I should try to work on it some…..some time soon.

    • lisasff says:

      Heh! Thanks! Teagan’s color is called “Pink Camo” LOL! I’m curious to see how the variegation works up.

      The blanket is measuring about 13 inches now, so just about one third done… I’m going to finish this skein, work up the straps, then finish the third skein off and be done! Will still be about a week or so, but no rush, it keeps me busy, and is relaxing, after the girls go down.

      You totally need to work on those projects :D I loved seeing the pictures of your finished pages!

      • Kathy W says:

        :-) finish??? sure, I’ll get there some day. Problem is, we just took a quick out of town trip last week and now I have MORE pictures to add to the pile of unfinished pages. :-D but as you said, it does keep me busy (if I would stay off computer more.)

        • lisasff says:

          Heh. Well, it’s projects nature to never be finished :D There’ll always be one more page to add, one more gift to do. :D

  3. […] April 15, 2013 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] April 15, 2013 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

