Whatever!

What to muse about today?

March 24, 2013

on March 24, 2013

20130324-194426.jpgLook how long it is!!

I have about a foot of scarf now, in garter stitch.  It’s going faster and becoming a bit more enjoyable, less work, less thought demanding.  Still not as natural feeling as crochet, but miles better than it was even three days ago.

I’m loving how squishy the knit is, how stretchy.  Crochet has give, usually, but nothing like this.  Or, it doesn’t feel quite as elastic as this garter stitch does.

Soon enough, I’ll start working on getting purl stitches down once this is done.  And maybe after a few crochet projects.  I also need to figure out how to work with circular needles so I can make a hat.  Teagan likes the yarn, though she’d prefer red.  I guess this will be Ashlin’s scarf and hat set.

 

 

28 responses to “March 24, 2013

  1. Marge says:

    Marge L* commented on your link.

    Marge wrote: “Circular needles aren’t hard to deal with. What you have to do is make sure that your line of stitches is all straight before you connect them. You are just knitting in a circle.”

    • lisasff says:

      Marge, I’m sure it’s not difficult, once you get the hang of it. Crochet is pretty easy to work in the round too, though you start at the crown and work down… the patterns I’ve seen are bottom up…

      • Marge says:

        Marge wrote: “@Lisa: Yup…bottom up. When you get as much as you need then u cut off the end leaving a longish tail & then take a needle & carefully pull it thru all the stitches & pull it shut. Voila! You have a cute hat.”

  2. Nina says:

    Nina commented on your link.

    Nina wrote: “Circs are easy once you get used to it. I even do flat knitting on circulars and rarely use my straights.”

    • lisasff says:

      Nina, that’s what one friend said… and that they were easier to carry along to knit on the go… no long needles to poke neighbors

      • Nina says:

        Nina wrote: In the winter I tend to wear my kimono robe and the long needles always get up the sleeves. And for sure the circs are easier in small spaces, you can keep your arms down and just work from the wrist. I have like 20+ sets of unused straights now that I have a collection of circulars and some interchangeables. …..So nice to have you join us in boring old yarn talk online.

        • lisasff says:

          heh. I got myself some nice bamboo needles, they feel awesome. The purple ones. The plastic don’t feel nice, and the yarn doesn’t slide the same. Now, crochet, I prefer the metal hooks, the yarn slides so nicely, and wood is slow.

          • Marge says:

            Marge wrote: “@Lisa: Bamboo rock!”

            • lisasff says:

              Marge, I’ve really been enjoying them. I’m almost sure that all the plastic will be replaced with bamboo… Not sure about the metal yet, I haven’t used them yet, they weren’t the right size to learn on, or for this project.

              • Marge says:

                Marge wrote: “Keep them all. Never know when they will come in handy I always say. Every time my daughter comes home she threatens to take my really big needles. I told her “do that *& I’ll break your neck!” I’ve made many a baby blanket or throw with my #15s. LOL”

              • Nina says:

                Nina wrote: “Save em. I use bamboo for slippery yarns like some really silky rayon or silk yarn. The grip helps. But some wool, especially IMO single ply, is grabby and takes forever on bamboo. I use metal for those. And with circs the yarn doesnt seem to fall off either. I use my plastic needles for cotton and that’s it.”

                • lisasff says:

                  Huh. Well, the two sets of plastic I tried I didn’t like with my acrylic and wool blend… I haven’t tried cotton with them yet. I wasn’t planning on pitching anything, but knew the plastic would be upgraded.

                  • Nina says:

                    Nina wrote: “It all depends on what you like. I rarely use plastic but they do work with some yarns. I kind want some old timey steel ones just because.”

                    • lisasff says:

                      Well, one is definitely getting pitched, one of a pair of plastic is missing a point. The others were good to start with, and it could be all a question of yarn, yeah…

                      and huh… maybe that’s why it seems this yarn likes to split? though it could just be me :)

                    • Nina says:

                      Nina wrote: “Few things are worse than dull tips. You know you can sharpen the bamboo ones.”

                    • lisasff says:

                      oh, this is beyond dull. it’s broken about a quarter of an inch down. Makes sense that you could sharpen them… but i can’t imagine knitting enough to dull them!

        • lisasff says:

          Oh, and i have one set of circular, I think a 4mm point and plastic needle and “thread”… it will be fine for the first hat anyway, and I’ll upgrade after that.

        • lisasff says:

          Oh, and i have about 10 sets of needles that were given to me… mostly metal, some plastic… we’ll try them all at least once before deciding about them…

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you! I love the yarn too! When I bought the skein I couldn’t tell how deep the darkest purple was… lovely little treasure there.

  3. Kathy W says:

    Yes, lovely colors! You seem to be taking to knitting as easy as the crocheting. You’re good, girl. ;-) The girls will have wonderful hats/scarves come next winter. Oh….or even for the end of this season. :-( Keep up the good work.

  4. Hi Lisa, Your knitting is coming along so well now. The colours are lovely and the scarf is going to be so snuggly. Brilliant! Avis x

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you!! I do feel strangely proud of how nicely it’s coming along. There’s still so much to learn, like oh, purl stitch, but I feel like I’m making progress. As soon as I get the next 20 inches or so done, and learn how to bind off (LOL!) I’ll start working on that pesky purl stitch.

      So happy with the yarn the clerk suggested!

      • If you can knit garter stitch, you can cast off (as we call it here). I have no doubt you will knit many more lovely projects too :-) Avis x

        • lisasff says:

          I’m sure I can, I just haven’t yet. Looked at some video today, seems easy enough, which means I need some practice work :D

          BTW, it’s called that here too, I think it depends on who taught you as to whether it’s cast or bind off…

  5. […] March 24, 2013 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] March 24, 2013 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

