Whatever!

What to muse about today?

March 19, 2013

on March 19, 2013
20130319-222049.jpg

Tonite’s Practice!

So, four days into this knitting thing… and it’s getting better. Not easy, but better.  This is tonight’s practice work.  I’m pretty happy with it too.  Other than some tension weirdness on the third or fourth row, and the bumpy slipped selvage edge it’s not too bad.  IMO, of course.  Good enough to maybe start a real project.  Maybe.

Pay no attention to the lost stitch by the f key...  #knit #learnnewthings #oops

Knit and purl

Sunday, I was able to get the purl stitch to work.  A friend came over with her kids,  and while the three older kids played and danced and talked in outdoor voices she helped me figure it out.  Thanks to her help I was able to work a few knit rows followed by some knit/purl rows.  I was somehow gaining a stitch or two with the purl rows.  Oops.  Monday at work, a coworker who knits thinks I may have somehow done more than one yarn over.  Could be…  in crochet you do multiple yarn overs all the time.

Last night’s practice work wasn’t too bad, but the edge was a bit less structured than crochet edges seem to be.  A friend suggested doing a slip stitch as the first stitch.  So, tonight I tried it.  I think I may have been putting the needle through the wrong way, creating the bumps.  I’ll try a bit more tonight with the needle going the other way to see if it looks better.

Rib! #knit #yarn #learnnewthings

Last night’s practice

It’s getting there!

19 responses to “March 19, 2013

  1. Marge says:

    Marge L* commented on your link.

    Marge wrote: “For a beginner I think you’re doing pretty darn good!”

    • lisasff says:

      thanks, Marge!

      • Marge says:

        Marge wrote: “The more you do it the easier it gets. I’ve been knitting since I was like 6? I still don’t hold the yarn “continental style.” I “throw it.” Never could get the hang of that. I don’t crochet either.”

        • lisasff says:

          I tried learning right handed, but couldn’t get it… I also tried both English (throwing) and Continental, and I think that works better for me, thanks to the crochet.

  2. Wendy says:

    Wendy B*S* commented on your link.

    Wendy wrote: I admire your persistence. :)

  3. ChanceDance says:

    Chance Dance commented on your link.

    Chance wrote: “I crochet because it is way faster thant knitting”

    • lisasff says:

      Heh. I can see that. I can crochet without thinking… it’s relaxing. This, well, still too new.

      • Kathy W says:

        I agree with Chance Dance….seems crochet would be easier… :-)

        • lisasff says:

          Heh. Right now, for me, it is!! I know that most of it is just familiarity and I’ll get it. I’ve crocheted oh, hundreds of hours by now, I’m sure. Knitting? Well, maybe 10? LOL!

  4. lisasff says:

    Nina? Any pointers today? :)

    • Nina says:

      Nina wrote: “Ur gettin there. Practice. You know I knitted for an entire year before I made my 1st hat. Yup.A year.”

      • lisasff says:

        oh, wow. I’m too impatient for that, but I will probably do another amigurumi for ash and her blanket in crochet before moving on to the hat/scarf set :)

  5. Kathy W says:

    You’re a brave girl…crochet and knitting. I would definitely be confused! HA HA Keep it up.

    • lisasff says:

      LOL! Maybe that’s my problem, I’m getting mixed up. I think both have their strengths and I’d LOVE to be able to chose and exploit as I see fit :D

      • Kathy W says:

        See, you’re thinking ahead….if you see a pattern and it’s only in ‘knit’ you’ll be able to do it and not forego the item. You’ll be able to adapt very quickly. ;-)

        • lisasff says:

          Kat, that is exactly what I’m hoping!! To become accomplished enough to make the item in the best way possible.

  6. Brilliant!! It doesn’t look like you are a newbie knitter :-) I’m so pleased you are sticking with it. Avis x

  7. […] March 19, 2013 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

