Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 27, 2013

on February 27, 2013
20130227-202916.jpg

Princess

Yesterday I mentioned how gruesome Teagan was over the weekend.  She was absolutely obsessed with leeches, bleeches as she insisted on calling them, and blood, or bleed.  She authoritatively explained that when you went into a dirty pond, you would get bleeches on you and they would then eat your bleed, and you would bleed.  I mentioned about the fish pond having leeches, that her dada got bit by some when he was cleaning it out last summer, and that she shouldn’t ever go swimming in there.  She promised not to, she doesn’t want any leeches biting her toes!

Leeches were discussed at least three times over the course of the day.  It’s amazing the things she comes up with!  Leeches aren’t every day conversation, not like monsters or fairies.

7 responses to “February 27, 2013

  1. Nina says:

    Nina commented on your link.
    Nina wrote: “In On the Banks of Plum Creek, or one of the Little House Books, there are “bloodsuckers” which get on legs if you dangle them in the water. I think Laura tried to scare Nellie Olsen with them….or something. Kids! Always into something GROSS.”

    • lisasff says:

      Oh! I had totally forgotten about that! I think they did that in the show too. I haven’t read the Little House books in ages.

      • Nina says:

        Nina wrote: “I don’t remember it from the show but I totally remember reading it and being horrified.

        • lisasff says:

          I remember a scene near a pond with a black slug thing… maybe it was a tadpole instead? With platinum-blonde curled Nellie screaming, trying to run away and falling in the pond?

  2. Kat says:

    ewww…..’bleeches’ wouldn’t be something I’d think she’d want to talk about. But, who knows how the mind of a child works???? Maybe someone at daycare has brought that up recently? Uck..don’t even like to think about them. I see the movie African Queen in my head when I think of leeches….not that they had them in it, but that type of scence comes to mind. :-)

Please Share Your Thoughts

