Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 13, 2013

on February 13, 2013
Crochet heart garland

Heart Garland

Last night I was able to finish the heart garland I’ve been working on, here and there, over the past week or so.  Google image search found the pattern here.  I thought it would be a good use of some of the yarn stash, there was quite a bit of red left over from the angry birds.

The hearts work up pretty easily.  I’d do one here, one there.  The week of plague was not a good week for hook play, nor was all the snow.  Eventually I was able to get enough time to make about twenty.

I tried making them with both a magic ring and a chain, and found the chain looked better.  These hearts needed a little circle…  If I was making the hearts with one round, I’d use the magic ring instead.

The crochet chain was a bit tricky, a chain of 45 stitches isn’t easy to keep a consistent tension.  I would get about 3/4 of the way through the start of the chain and notice that the stitches were off, I wasn’t consistent.  The stitches on the top or between the hearts didn’t seem quite as important, foundational.  Still, even with redoing a bit here, a bit there, I was able to get all the hearts chained together.

I think it looks pretty good on the mantle…
Crochet heart garland

Crochet heart garland

 

Crochet heart garland

6 responses to “February 13, 2013

  1. Kat says:

    So neat. It’s just the thing for a ‘holiday’ decoration!! And the foot prints above it look like hearts as well. You could even make this into a nice afghan??? maybe, just saying.

    • lisasff says:

      I’m very happy with it! Have plans to make a shamrock one too…

      These feet are Ashlin’s from last year… We did some again this year too… and handprints…

      I’m not sure about making the hearts into an afghan… that would be a lot of sewing and tucking! Maybe a hot pad instead?

Please Share Your Thoughts

