Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 10, 2013

on February 10, 2013
Untitled

Almost free!

We did two dig-out sessions today.  One in the morning and one in the afternoon.

Ashlin didn’t do quite as well this morning as she has the other times we went out.  Maybe her gloves were still a bit wet, I don’t know.  I only got to help Stu a little bit.  Trying to keep the girls enthusiastic, I suggested trying to get to the swing set, so I could start shoveling the deck.  They were game, very happy at the thought of the slide.  I didn’t think it through quite as much as I should have.

The snow was almost to my waist.  Blazing a trail was not easy, especially while carrying Ashlin on one hip.  She couldn’t stand, though when I sat her on the snow, she sort of stayed on the surface.  Teagan had a lot of trouble following in my footprints.  So, I’d go a little way, put Ash down, go back and get Teagan.  Leave Teagan, forge ahead with Ashlin, go back and get Teagan.  Incredibly tiring work, and I hadn’t even started shoveling yet!

Eventually we got there, Teagan played on the slide a bit, though she had trouble climbing the wall with her boots on.  Ashlin was with me, sitting on the stack of deck chairs while I cleared the door.  The door that had snow higher than Teagan!  I got most of that done, and started on a window before Ashlin and then Teagan were fed up.  Getting back to the front was a bit easier, I could follow my trail, but still, it was leapfrogging up with one and going back for the other.  Teagan did try a bit to walk herself out though, my big girl.

Untitled

The snow was stupid high

While I was out back, Stu got most of the end of the driveway open.

We went in, and we all napped.

Ashlin was still a big cranky about being outside in the afternoon.  She wanted to be near both of us, and really didn’t want to try to build a snow monster, like Teagan did.  The driveway was open enough, so I dropped Ashlin in the car – in Teagan’s seat! – and backed out.  All the snow on the roof fell off in the road as soon as I stopped.  It was so loud when it slide off.  I took the car around the block while Stu continued to widen the end, and to see the neighborhood.  Ashlin enjoyed that, but really wanted to walk, “Ashlin walk, snow.  Walk.”  How could we refuse?

So, while Stu continued working on the driveway, I took the girls and we went for a walk.  It was so strange, the snow plow only did one pass, so the road was only one car wide.  We saw a few people out, still digging out their cars, their driveways.  Teagan would always say “hi!  What’s your name?” Quickly followed by “my name is Teagan!”  Most people humor her and replied with their name.

They both were very good on the walk, not getting too far ahead or behind.  Listening well.  Teagan would stop every few feet to get a new snowball, or boulder, as a new one would pique her fancy.  You could see who had a snowblower and who shoveled.  Or hadn’t finished shoveling!

We're free!!! #snow #nemo

Free at last!

Anyway, we’re free! Or at least able to get out of the house and go around the block. I’m not sure how much else of town is cleared, last night there was something like 80% of town that was still unplowed, like we were.

Oh, and the door and windows are clear, as is some of the chimney.  As much as I could get to before dinner.

Fingers crossed that the rain we’re forecast for tomorrow will melt some of what we have, and not sit on top and weight it down.

10 responses to “February 10, 2013

  1. Wow! That’s incredible!! I’ve never seen anything like this before :-) Avis x

    • lisasff says:

      It’s been quite a while since I’ve seen that much snow – at one time – too! They’re talking about the storms from the late 70’s for comparison. It’s crazy!!

      Hubby – my English import – is still on about two winters ago when we got something like 120 inches in a month… LOL!

  2. Kat says:

    I am glad that you’re able to at least GET OUT and see the neighborhood and maybe by the end of the week, this will only be a memory, not a nightmare. Be careful and hope for rain that melts, and not freezes.

  3. I love seeing how big the banks are next to the little ones!

  4. Kris A says:

    As soon as this crisis is over, get thee a snowblower!!

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah. We totally need to fix it. I think Stu is more than ready to lug it to a shop. We may be getting more snow Wednesday.

      I don’t know if it would have been able to handle 36 inches.

  5. Kris A says:

    No it wouldn’t. It takes several swipes. Ours can do 24 inches..This is starting to sound a bit off color….

Please Share Your Thoughts

