Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 5, 2013

on January 5, 2013
Just picked up yarn for a #sandyhook #scarf

Donated Yarn

Friday I dropped off the scarf that I crocheted for a student from Sandy Hook.  Some generous person or company donated green and white yarn for knitters and crocheters to make scarves, to make something comforting and snuggly.

I wasn’t sure at first what to do.  It was almost like the simple scarf was too big a task.  Friends made a few suggestions, one being a scarf with pockets on the ends.  Then I found a pattern to make the scarf look like an alligator.

Just about half done with #crochet #angel stitch #scarf  for #sandyhook. Thanks to donated yarn from #knitnewhaven

Half Way There

I kept going Google image searches looking for something that really called to me.  Eventually I found this pattern.  A stitch called an Angel Stitch.  Perfect.

It’s a variation of a puff stitch, one I hadn’t done before.  I printed out the directions and took my yarn up with me at Christmas.  By then, I was just about  finished all the pressing projects and could devote a bit of time to this one.  I could not work out the stitch from the printed instructions at all.  I kept trying, doing a few rows, but they never worked.  Again, and again, I would pull out the stitches.  It was so frustrating not to understand the words.  I knew what she was describing, but my stitches didn’t look like her images.

Weaving in the tails on my #angel stitch #scarf for #sandyhook.

Sewing in Ends

Eventually, I was able to watch the video she had made, and was finally able to get the stitch to look right.  I still think I have an extra yarn over after drawing up a loop, but that’s not really important, is it?  The final outcome looked right – like little angels with halos.

Even with changing yarn, it worked up pretty quickly.  Well, once you got a hang of drawing the hook through eight loops without dropping any or catching any stray threads.  I enjoyed working the scarf.  Each color band was a different width, keeping track of the second half was a little challenge, but not as bad as it could have been.  I just ticked off each band as I finished the rows it needed.

A little bit of weaving in the ends and it was done.  I followed the pattern’s creator and didn’t put a fringe on, though there was a little bird on my shoulder questioning if I should do something to “finish” it more formally than just tying off.

Dropped off the#crochet #scarf in #angel #stitch for #sandyhook today

Angel Stitch for Sandy Hook

Anyway.  Here it is all done, lying on the car seat as I was sitting in the car right in front of the store where they are collecting the scarves.  A lovely store, and one I would love to visit again.  They are doing a “Lunch and Learn” to to squares for an afghan, one square a day and then at the end, how to assemble them all.  I wish I worked closer!

As I was ready to pull away, I noticed that the tree in front was yarn bombed!  With Christmas decorations!  Totally cool!

#yarn #bomb out front

Yarn Bomb!

4 responses to “January 5, 2013

  1. Wendy says:

    Wendy B* S* commented on your link.

    Wendy wrote: “It turned out lovely.”

  2. Kat says:

    Lovely indeed!! And for a great cause. The ‘yarn bombed’ tree very unique. Something to do with ‘left over’ yarn.

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you!

      I’ll need to keep an eye out for future yarn bombings! I am beginning to get a bit of a left over stash :D

Please Share Your Thoughts

