Whatever!

What to muse about today?

December 30, 2012

on December 30, 2012
Sugar Cookies!

Sugar Cookies!

Today Teagan and I decorated sugar cookies.  I had found a Christmas package of sprinkles, little trees and sugar.  Glittery!

We didn’t make them from scratch, maybe next year.  Maybe Easter.  I sliced the dough up and Teagan helped pour the sprinkles on.  It was fun, even though Teagan kept wanting to eat the sprinkles off the cookies, not the little pile I gave her.

I tucked the cookie cutters away for next year.  I may try a different season, or no season at all, to do cookies from scratch with her.  The pre-made worked very well for now, especially with a little girl with a very limited attention span.

They tasted lovely.

9 responses to “December 30, 2012

  1. Kris A says:

    We did cookie cutter cookies from scratch this year..I had honestly avoided them for awhile because of the mess and time needed. But we had a lot of fun making them!! I just finished baking magic cookie bars and chocolate chip cookie bars for New Years Eve. Now if I can keep my family out of them until tomorrow night, that will be the trick.

    • lisasff says:

      Really? This long for cookie cutter cookies? Hum… Maybe I’m too optimistic, though I do have a stand mixer and a lovely french rolling pin :D

      The Santa Treats that the girls make are basically magic cookie bars, Dippy Chippy as my mom calls them. I could totally get into some chocolate chip cookie bars though… I LOVE LOVE LOVE blondies :D

      Teagan did help me make the salted caramel pretzel toffee bark, so… she does try as long as I keep it simple…

      • Kris A says:

        Caramel pretzel toffee bark..that sound yummy. The cut out cookies only take awhile because you need keep refrigerating the dough so you can roll it out. I love my stand mixer..it’s so heavy…I call it the behemoth!!!

        • lisasff says:

          Oh, they were lovely! Teagan and I made two batches for the day care teachers, and I kept a few pieces… I had hoped to make another batch for us, they were so good. I thought I had written about, that, but I didn’t find it.

          I guess I did know about needing to refrigerate the dough, but I may have blanked about it, in the hopes that it may be easier than I thought :D

  2. […] December 30, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I want to bake with Chloe but I think this might be the way to go too… Attention span, RIGHTO!

    • lisasff says:

      Even if you made the dough and just had her decorate them, it’d be the same… I’m no where near ready to give Teagan icing through. LOL!

  4. Kat says:

    I don’t “do” cookies. :-) Usually neighbors bring enough to suffice during the holidays. But I do remember it being fun to do with the kids (younger ones).

    • lisasff says:

      I don’t do many cookies, usually just some toffee “bark” and a Toll House pie, recipe from our Frank. I have some blurry memories of making cookies with my mom… but more of stealing her cookie cutters to play with the home made play-dough, and maybe make ornaments for the Christmas tree

Please Share Your Thoughts

