Whatever!

What to muse about today?

December 7, 2012

on December 7, 2012
How bad is it is I'm off by 4 inches?   #crochet #gage #fail

Bigger than a bread basket

I ran out of yarn just about halfway through a project, a present.  When I went looking for a new ball, there wasn’t any at the store.  I have to wait for the next shipment.  Sucky, but it gives me time to do another “me” project.

I found a pattern for a basket on the Garn Studio website.  A bread basket.  How French!  Then I found this lovely holiday yarn – Mistletoe by Sugar and Cream – a lovely variegated red, white and green.  It’s the first cotton yarn I’ve crocheted with, so feels a bit different, and it’s not as quick to work.

I just finished the basket bottom.  Following the pattern, worked up to 128 stitches from a ring of 10.  When I measure to see if I need to add some more rounds, I get 12 inches diameter, not the 8 inches that they call for.  Yikes!  How could I be four inches off?  Now that I look, I’m using a hook a bit larger than they call for, a 4.25mm instead of 3.5mm.

It’s really going to be a basket to catch mail or junk or something for the holiday, and it may not matter if it’s a bit wider than the pattern says, especially as I do have the right number of stitches.

It didn’t take too long to get this far, maybe three hours at most.  Not sure if it matters or not.  I’m not going to be able to crochet much more today anyway, before my parents come and we go to the company party.  And I need to make that jam this afternoon…  oh, what to do, what to do?

 

4 responses to “December 7, 2012

  1. Kat says:

    Love this too. You are getting so agressive…keep it up.

    • lisasff says:

      Agressive? ok. LOL! Thank you.

      I ended up pulling all the work out and starting over. I wasn’t happy, even though I probably could have just continued on. I tightened up the yarn tension and I’m much happier with it. It’s on hold for now, that I found a new skein of the purple I needed to finish another, more urgent, project

      • Kat says:

        Yes, agressive…doing something difficult and just getting into a craft is agressive and very awe inspiring to me. I’m into scrapbooking right now and have found NEW things to play with. Santa should be bringing me some goodies for that. ;-)

        • lisasff says:

          Oh, finding new things to do is one of the best things. I’m totally avoiding knitting. I do not need another time suck… at least not now.

Please Share Your Thoughts

