Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 29, 2012 ~ Teagan & Books

on November 29, 2012
Tea reads to Ash

Look here Ashlin! Pictures!

Teagan has always had a love love relationship with books.  Once she realized books are stories, and a way to extend bedtime, while getting lots of snuggles and rocking with mama or dada. She loves books.  Always asking for one more at bedtime.  One of the best ways to punish her into towing the line is to threaten to take away bedtime books.

One of the books that we, well mostly Stu, read her was a Little Golden book version of 101 Dalmatians.  Teagan called it the “Nice Lady, Mean Lady” book.  Realizing that like Peter Pan, the book is based on a movie, she asked to watch the movie.  My version of the movie was on VHS, and at my parents.  Every time we went up, I’d forget to bring it back, then she’d ask to watch it.  Gah.  Repeat.

She has alternate titles to other books too.  The Painting With Picasso book is one she calls a “mean book.”  The painting of the acrobats scares her, the Lady Laughing (in her head) has a worm that crawls out, according to her.  We don’t read that one to her any more, it’s in Ash’s room now, she doesn’t seem to mind it, though she prefers Boynton.

Anyway.

Finally over Thanksgiving, we found the box the movies were in, and Teagan finally got to watch it.  Cruella freaked her out.  We fast forwarded through parts, at least the first time.  But she loved it.  Over the three days we were up at my parents, she must have seen 101 Dalmatians three times.  And The Aristocats, which she wasn’t sure about he first time, it does start off a bit scary.  She also got to see  The Lady and The Tramp, another movie for which she has the Little Golden book.

Those movies came back with us.  We left Pocahontas there.

9 responses to “November 29, 2012 ~ Teagan & Books

  1. Aw! When my nephew was small he had a favourite book with a story about a friendly lion. One day when I visited he asked me if I’d like to stroke the lion so I pretended to stroke it next to where I was sitting. He asked me what I was doing and I said, “I’m stroking the friendly lion”. He replied “It isn’t over there, it’s here!!”. They have wonderful imaginations when they are so young :D Avis x

    • lisasff says:

      LOL! That’s awesome! Teagan doesn’t have an imaginary friend. Yet. I’m sure she will though. Soon. She makes up these intricate stories now, as it is. Her favorite books go in phases, and right now it’s the Peter Pan, 101 Dalmatians and the Gruffalo. She brought that one into day care to share with her classmates!

  2. Kris A says:

    I love the little Golden books. I had them as a kid and then my kids had them!

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, I remember having a bunch too. Not the Disney ones, but I remember loving them. And my Nancy Drew… So glad that both girls love books.

  3. Kat says:

    My son had every Golden Book there was…..at least it seemed so when he was little. :-) I loved them. They were fairly durable through teething, throwing, and general banging on the floor, bed, head, etc…. Glad to see her so interested in books.

Please Share Your Thoughts

