Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 21, 2012

on November 21, 2012
Angry Birds

Angry Birds

Procrastination is the word of the morning.  I should be finding a holiday dress for Tea, packing and loading up the car.  Instead, I’m drinking coffee (that my lovely husband made) and looking for a crochet basket pattern.  I think this will be the project I bring with me…

Included in the packing are the three amigurumi amigos over there…  I’ll post pictures about their creation soon.  But not today.

Today, will be short and sweet.  Well, bittersweet.  The past few weeks, Ashlin has been noticing all the Elmo items we have around the house, pointing and saying “Elmo.”  Thank you day care!  Teagan still asks to watch Elmo on TV, though will be appeased with just about anything else, especially Super Why.  And it makes me sad.

I know that now we’ll probably be minimizing Elmo in the future, thanks to the persistent scandal.  But how?  And how much?  Do we really need to?  Gah!  I hate this.  Do we need to stop watching all the Elmo sings with X videos that both girls love?  Will they get pulled down now?  This whole thing just sucks.

I know Elmo isn’t the puppeteer, that Elmo himself is innocent, even if Mr. Clash may not be.  Is it still possible to separate the two?

How do we explain that Elmo is going away?

 

11 responses to “November 21, 2012

  1. Kat says:

    ?? Guess I should watch the news more. Didn’t know there was a scandal about Elmo. I was thinking the middle one looked like Bert from Bert/Ernie….good job on those. I saw a scarf in one of my many Christmas catalogs that I thought of you…will see if I can find it on line and send you the link. It’s a ‘snake’ and a ‘fox’ and I think there was one other….

    • lisasff says:

      It’s sad. I’ve been avoiding news stories about it. Had to tell my parents, sister even, to talk about it when Teagan was not in the room. She doesn’t need to know there’s anything going on at all. Why should we take the videos and songs away?

      • Kat says:

        Yeah, I agree…no need for them to ‘know’ the details of Elmo’s demise on the TV and surely nothing should be taken away that they enjoy. Later on is time enough for them to know the back story. :-)

  2. Kat says:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/BeesKneesKnitting –that was easy!! It’s the same ones that are being sold in my catalog. I think they are adorable and so many. Couldn’t resist thinking about you since you’ve posted these cute little guys.

  3. Kris A says:

    I have a feeling that Elmo won’t go away..he is way to profitable for Sesame Workshop. Such a pity that Kevin Clash tarnished the good Sesame name.

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, he probably won’t be going away… but maybe he will go away to school? I don’t know. We’re basically ignoring the issue at home, with the girls… we only watch the dvd’s and videos. Why take that happy away from them?

  4. […] November 21, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Last night I was able to finish the heart garland I’ve been working on, here and there, over the past week or so.  Google image search found the pattern here.  I thought it would be a good use of some of the yarn stash, there was quite a bit of red left over from the angry birds. […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

