Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 17, 2012

on November 17, 2012
Tea with a Ripple

Tea with a Ripple

Look!  It’s Teagan, hamming it up in her bed, with her blanket.  And the side rail is also off.  She’s such a big girl.  And very happy with her blanket.

Last night, I finished another crochet project, one for Christmas.  It was a scarf, which tends to be something that can be worked fast.  I chose a Granny Stripe for the pattern!  It’s a fun pattern, looking a bit like a chunky block motif.  Similar to the well-known square, but in a line.

Chain

I counted the stitches for the base chain carefully, making a tick mark every time I hit ten stitches.  I added the right multiple for a bit more length (it is worked in threes).  But somehow, I must have miscounted.  Of course, I didn’t find this out until the third row in the pattern.  The first row is the chain, then there’s a row of single crochet, then you start the double crochet clusters of three stitches.  I got all the way to the end and look!   Gah.  So annoying!

Kaaaaahhhhhhnnnnn!!

At least it wasn’t a blanket!  Eventually, I’ll be able to do a foundation row and not need to rip it out.

Second time, second color!

I really had fun doing my two rows of double crochet clusters, and the scarf was looking pretty nice.  Switching to the second color really helped emphasize the pattern, and also pulled me a bit further along the rabbit hole that people seem to find themselves in with this pattern.

Third color, muah ha ha ha!

I really was impressed with how quickly the stitch went, how fast I was able to crochet the scarf.  Even switching colors wasn’t complicated, though I have some tails to weave in, if I decide not to fringe the scarf…

Reverse!!

To fringe or not to fringe…

I still need to block the scarf, but I may not fringe it… what do you think?

I’m pretty sure I’ll end up doing a blanket with this stitch, Attic 24 had an awesome edging to her blanket, I’m eager to try that too!

8 responses to “November 17, 2012

  1. […] November 17, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Kat says:

    The blanket looks great on the bed. Sorry that it has been involved in an accident, but am sure it will survive….Glad T loves it so much.

  3. […] November 17, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] November 17, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] November 17, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

