Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 12, 2012

on November 12, 2012
20121112-211458.jpg

Peeled

Today I made some Apple Jam.  I found one recipe that tempted me with apples and caramel…  I’m a sucker for caramel.  We had lots of apples, still.  I haven’t been able to go through all the 20 some odd pounds of apples we picked.  I’ve tried!

Anyway, I finally remembered to get pectin, and had a few hours, so I pulled out the big canning pot and the peeler.

The recipe was pretty easy, dice up the apples, cook them down, add the pectin, sugars and process.  The worst part was dicing up the apples, tiny tiny.  I’ll admit that I did use the immersion blender a little, just to take some of the bigger chunks out…

20121112-211505.jpg

Diced

Not too bothersome though, I was able to peel and dice while waiting for the water to heat up to a boil in the canning pot. Man, that takes a LONG time.  Eventually, the jars were sterilized and laid out, waiting for the jam to be ready.

It took a bit longer for the apples to cook to tender than I expected, but eventually they were ready for the pectin to go in.

20121112-211514.jpg

Cooking down

Once the pectin was in, I needed to bring it up to a boil before mixing in the sugar. After a few minutes it came up to a rolling boil.  Sugar in, and it was time to mix, mix mix.  I did cheat a little, and add some splenda along with the white and brown sugars.

20121112-211521.jpg

Is it caramel yet?

The recipe said it would make 7 pints. I got two 1.5 pint jars along with the 4 pints and one half pint jars. I needed to do this mish-mosh because I forgot to check to see if I had lids before starting. I only had six regular size, and then four wide mouth. The half pint jar is a wide mouth jar. I’m lucky I had enough! And very glad I did.

20121112-211534.jpg

Processing!

Anyway, I think the canning pot took almost an hour to get to the boil I needed to process the jam. The jars sat on the counter a bit longer than probably was necessary between being filled and being able to be processed. But eventually they were done…

20121112-211528.jpg

All done!

… And I could have a decent taste (from the funnel and pot which had cooled off). It tasted more like apple pie filling than caramel. Oh, well. It’s still quite yummy. A bit sweet, but yummy.

I’ll be buying some caramels so I can try the other recipe, and see if it’s more like eating a caramel apple. Maybe I’ll have time next weekend. Now, I have to crochet a pig.

16 responses to “November 12, 2012

  1. Nina says:

    Nina commented on your link.

    Nina wrote: “Yum. I guess it is that time of the year as I was just thinking of cider and apple streusel cake and pie and making applesauce with a food mill like my grandmother showed me.”

    • lisasff says:

      He he he. I just use a crock pot for applesauce… I don’t have a food mill… :D

      • Nina says:

        Nina wrote: “Smart. I confess- I just buy applesauce since I dont LOVE It that much. Maybe if I had an orchard”

        • lisasff says:

          The girls like it a lot… often, they get some after dinner instead of a sweet dessert… I know it’s super cheap, but it’s nice being able to control the sugar, spices… and it freezes so well, no need to can it.

        • Nina says:

          Nina wrote: “I have a few jars of it in here and you are right about controlling the ingredients. Its sooo hard to find things without added sugar and corn syrup. I often add a touch of flavoring to the stuff to make it tasty, or even pureed berries. Oh and is it as weird to you as it is to me to see you discuss “the girls”? Im stuck in a time warp, I just cant process all these new babies being so OLD now.”

  2. Kat says:

    I do NOT have patience to do this. Glad you have been able to make use of the mountain of apples you brought home. I love applesauce, apple jelly, but jam I haven’t tried.
    I excited that you’re crocheting a PIG. I think those animals are so cute!!

    • lisasff says:

      The jams aren’t that complicated or annoying, not really. I will NOT do any jelly, I am not into pureeing and straining through layers of cheese cloth, etc. Jam is just an immersion blender :D

      Processing isn’t that bad either, once the water is at a full roll…

      Pictures have been going up of the projects… you may see them in the flicker or instagram on the side…

      • Kat says:

        You’re still making me ‘tired’ just reading some of your posts. I seem only to be ‘on the computer’ for pleasure or reading these days. HA. However, I am working on a scrapbrook of our trip to MS last month. Slow go….

        • lisasff says:

          Oh, I have so much stuff to get done, never fear! I’m just distracting myself with this new pleasure right now… Trying to find other things to crochet too… he he he… and those apples? Well, they have to get used somehow!

          And if you are doing a non-digital scrapbook, you need to scan it and share with us!

  3. Mmmmmm! Looks delicious :-) I have never made jam but I think I will try now. Avis x

    • lisasff says:

      It was pretty easy, actually. I think canning peaches was more annoying, once you got past chopping up the apples.

      I’ll be trying another apple caramel jam recipe, soon…

Please Share Your Thoughts

