Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 9, 2012 ~ Teagan’s Ripple

on November 10, 2012
I think she likes it!  #crochet #chevron #ripple #afghan

I think she likes it

I think it’s safe to say Teagan likes her new blanket.  She got it tonight, after dinner.  The three of us were on the sofa, Ashlin on one side, Teagan on the other, both girls snuggled up under a blanket.  Teagan with her new one, Ashlin with the old throw.

Anyway, it took me just over two weeks to crochet this ripple afghan.  (I started November 21!)  The pattern is from here, and I decided to start with a 40 inch width, and somewhere around 50 inches long.  Long enough to work well in her toddler bed,  (crib mattress), but still be usable in her full size bed, once we move her up.

Third time's the charm!  Foundation row of new #crochet #afghan

Third time’s the charm!

I chose this pattern because it was a pretty simple one, but still offered something new to learn.  I didn’t want to do something too complicated for such a large project.

Teagan and I went to the store with one of her curtains, so we could match yarn, or at least be sure they wouldn’t clash.  She insisted there be pink.  I was able to talk her out of red and purple though!

Colors

Cheat Sheet

The foundation row took forever.  I think I had to do the base chain four times, and the actual first row three times.  I totally suck at counting stitches.  I ended up ticking off every ten stitches for the chain to be sure to have the correct number.  The foundation, with it’s multiple of six was also tricky, but eventually I got it.  A mistake on that first row would be bad, I wouldn’t know how to fix it!  LOL!

I can, and did, figure out how to hide a mistake further along.  I did keep getting lost in the six up and then six down, every now and then in the increase or decrease of three.  Not sure how, but I did.

It was rewarding to see the blanket get longer and longer.  To see Teagan get more and more eager, once it got past a foot or so…

IMG_7842

Neapolitan

IMG_7845

First taste of green

Getting there!! #crochet #chevron #afghan

Hint of length

After I got about 18 inches done, I got tired of swapping out the colors, so I did a quick visual in Excel to figure how how I could start some thicker bands.  One thick band of each color, but the brown.  That would be two, so that the pattern would look like it was reversed depending on how you looked at it…  brown to green on one side, brown to pink on the other.

Geeky pattern play

Most of the #ripple #chevron #crochet #afghan

Most of the ripple
















Excel did help.  The blanket turned out to be about 54 inches, including the boarder, which was a slip stitch to finish the last edge, then a single crochet all around, with two stitches in each row, four for each color band, and ten for the thick ones.  I followed that up with a half double crochet, just to give the sides some substance.

Getting there!! #crochet #afghan

Getting there!

The edges were pretty straight with out any finishing, but I didn’t want to give her too much chance to fiddle the edge apart, to find a weakness to pick at.  She’s worried off most of the tassels on the throw I have downstairs.

#chevron #ripple #crochet #afghan is done!

Edge

I’m going to need to find another pattern to do to replace that one!

21 responses to “November 9, 2012 ~ Teagan’s Ripple

  1. I’m so pleased I stumbled upon your blog. I’ve just ordered yarn to make a ripple blanket. I haven’t crocheted much before, just made an easy Granny square blanket. I’m really looking forward to getting my yarn now that I’ve seen how yours has turned out. Thanks for the inspiration. Avis x

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you!! I’ve just started up myself… Well, a few months ago. This was my biggest project so far. I haven’t done any Granny Squares yet… I need to do some amigurumi angry birds and then I’ll be on Christmas presents! Which are Granny Square based, go figure. After than, I can start up a new blanket for me!

      • You sound just like me when I started quilting about 2 years ago. Sooooooo enthusiastic and so many future projects in my head:-) Having said that, nothing has changed ;-)

        • lisasff says:

          Yay! I’m enjoying this a lot. Nice to know it may not go away!

          BTW, love your quilts… I can’t sew at all. And I need to get my teeth into this a bit morevbefore I can even think about starting something else…

          • Aw! Thank you :-) My yarn for the ripples arrived yesterday. I did a small practice piece first and then onto the dreaded first row for real. Just started my second colour. I’m really enjoying it so far :D

            • lisasff says:

              Yay!! Can’t wait to see yours!

              I’ve just pulled out two rows on a 177 stitch scarf. I can’t seem to get my foundations right the first time :(

              • I had to do my foundation row twice on the ripples and although it is now correct, it is tighter than my crochet which I’m not happy about. The only way to correct it would be to make a really slack foundation chain which I don’t want either so I’ll have to live with it I think. I’ll be posting pics soon! Have a fab weekend :-) Avis x

                • lisasff says:

                  It took me three times with my ripple! Yay for you!

                  Two tries on this scarf, so better… there’s still something a bit “funny,” but I’m sure blocking will help…

  2. Kat says:

    Oh, My!!! You have done such a great job. I adore the color combo. The larger rows add such a ‘ripple’ effect for sure. You are getting to be quite accomplished at this. It does look like T really does like her blankie….and I think the colors look well with her hair and complexion. Excellent choices, Teagan.

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you!! Teagan did help pick the colors, though I did limit her choice :) I wish I had thought of doing the thicker rows earlier, so could have done two of them, but I’m still pleased with the outcome. I need to take a picture of the blanket on her bed, it looks so good in there!

      BTW, she’s so ready to move up to a big bed, and it will fit pretty well there too! So not ready for that though.

      • Kat says:

        Glad to know that it will work on the larger bed as well. And whether we (parents) are ready or not, they do grow up. :-) It’s hard to think about, but, dang it….it happens. Hang in there.

        • lisasff says:

          So not even THINKING about it yet. I know we have a year or two before we need to think about it… Ashlin will probably go into a toddler bed (maybe with Teagan’s bar) before then…

  3. […] November 9, 2012 ~ Teagan’s Ripple (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] November 9, 2012 ~ Teagan’s Ripple (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] used some of the leftover yarn from Teagan’s Ripple to make a stash basket, using Purl Bee’s pattern here.  It was a wonderful pattern, and well […]

  6. […] November 9, 2012 ~ Teagan’s Ripple (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] my girls’ bunnies first.  Dug through the left over bins and found the yarn left over from Teagan’s ripple blanket.  It had pink, so would be perfect for her. For Ashlin I pulled two of her favorites […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

