Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 6, 2012

on November 6, 2012

20121106-162011.jpg

I voted today.  Yay me!  In and out, easy peasy.  It was my first time going to the polls at the new house.  A few months ago I finally got around to changing my registration, although for a Presidential Election, I would have driven to my old polling place.  It turns out, I vote where the girls will go to school in a few years. Unsure as to how the turnout would be at this new place, and not wanting to feel panicked tonight, I waited this morning, and headed out a little past morning rush hour.  I don’t know if I needed to have worried or not as there was absolutely no line there at all, it was a mostly empty parking lot.  The only waiting I had to do was for passing traffic and a few older people trying to find a parking spot.

It was interesting.  I saw signs posted outside about required ID’s.  I had a few with me, as when I renewed my drivers license this summer, I didn’t get a certified id, or whatever it is that I needed my passport to get, I had only brought my expiring license.  I was concerned that they’d be cranky about it.  Anyway, it was accepted, but they said that a photo ID was required.  It’s not required if you have alternate ID.  Makes me wonder if they turned anyone away for not having one.

I am so glad this election is almost over.  All the election commercials that they’re playing every single ad break are just too much.  Especially those for Murphy and McMahon, those are just downright nasty.  We just have the non-stop projections for a while, I’m sure a ton of recounting, and I’m sure we won’t know who won until sometime tomorrow or even later.  Fingers crossed it won’t be too drawn out!

It would be nice if everyone could just move on, no matter what happens tonight.  It’s hard to see all the nastiness and meanness and general vitriol that we’ve had.  Can’t we just be nice to each other?  I can always hope!

I always feel sorry for California and Hawaii.  They are so eager with their winner projection, I’m sure they always feel a sense of redundancy  and wonder why they even bother.

Driving in to the office today, AltNation played a new song by Django Django that was awesome.  First time hearing it and I found myself taping along.  My brain kept being reminded of other bands, but never enough for full fledged comparison.  I’ll need to think about it a bit more…

Enjoy!

2 responses to “November 6, 2012

  1. Kat says:

    Yahoo….is right. I was so glad that we had TiVo so that most of the commercials could and were skipped. I tired of the negativity on all sides quite quickly. For once, just wish the candidates would say what their platform is and nothing about the other candidates …character, record, what or what not they will do…etc. Glad we can at least have reprieve those bombardments. Now, we just need to ‘get along’ and support the people that did make it into office. Thanks for doing your part.

    • lisasff says:

      I’ve been watching stuff off the DVR, so we’ve been exposed again. And again. It would have been ok if they were just normal ads, but the race between McMahon and Murphy made national headlines for how nasty it got. I hope that I can get the DVR cleaned up enough soon… And that we can keep getting along :D

Please Share Your Thoughts

