Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 2, 2012

on November 2, 2012
20121102-193239.jpg

Fringe!

Today I was able to finish Stu’s scarf. Yay for fringe! He’s been wearing it already, but now it has it’s fringe. I was really happy with how it turned out, just a simple single crochet and then a double crochet make that nifty waffle-like pattern.  It’s delicate without being feminine, very nice.  I’m going to need to try that with another scarf, or even a blanket. Yes, maybe a blanket.  I’ve got three baby blankets and three-quarters of a toddler blanket under my belt…  Maybe it’s time for an adult one?  Though I do have my eye on a circle in a square pattern…

20121102-193249.jpg

Apple Cheddar Meat Pie!

For dinner tonight I made Apple and Cheddar meat pies! I had a package of the Goya discos and oh, so many apples.  They turned out pretty well, considering.  I think next time, I’ll try with rolled out pizza dough, maybe do a Stromboli type roll.

I bought some puff pastry, so will use that to make some more apple hand pies.  It seems more of a sweet pastry than savory one, so I’ll be making more hand pies soon…  maybe with Teagan this weekend.  She asked about them, while eating her dinner tonight.  Also, if I could make a broccoli pie.  Um.  Ok.  I could, I’m sure.  I’ll find one with cheese.  Everything is always better with cheese.

20121102-193319.jpg

Can you make broccoli pies?

Both girls enjoyed the meat pies. Ashlin ate three quarters of hers, in something like 1o minutes, while Teagan ate about the same amount in 30 minutes.  She almost didn’t get her treat – Sherbert – because she was taking so long with her dinner.  Stu liked them too :)

20121102-193300.jpg

Taped on shoes! Really?!?!?!?

Teagan had a great day at day care, a great week actually, hence her treat.  Ashlin, well, I’m not sure what happened for her today at day care.  She came home with her shoes  taped – yes, I said TAPED! – on. AND they taped her socks on too.  Stu didn’t notice when he picked them up tonight, but you can be sure I’ll ask why they felt they needed to tape them on.  Yes, the shoes are a bit big, she’s outgrown the size 4’s and is a bit too small for the 5’s, and she does love to take her socks off, but still.  It just doesn’t seem right.

20121102-193309.jpg

AND socks!?!?! WTF??

AND her socks?!?!?! WTF??

9 responses to “November 2, 2012

  1. Kat says:

    The meat/apple pies sound interesting. I have used apples in my pork recipes when roasting/baking pork chops. They give just the right amoutn tof sweetness to the dish. And I would defintiely find out about the taping episode with the shoes/socks. I’m sure it was meant as a deterrant to taking those items off, but really the amount of tape used on that one foot seemed a little much. :-) It also looked as if they had the wrong shoe on the wrong foot?? Can’t wait to hear their answers. Have a great weekend….and btw the scarf looked wonderfully warm. hmmmm. Stu’s a lucky guy.

    • lisasff says:

      They turned out pretty good! My main complaint with them was the same for the apple hand pies – the crust was a bit too hard on the edges. They tasted even better today! I put a link to it, but it was pretty simple, beef, apples onion and some cheese in dough, baked at 425 for 20ish minutes. The link wasn’t much more specific than that.

      Totally going to ask about the tape Monday. It just seemed odd, and a bit extreme, even though I know Ashlin likes taking her socks off all the time.

  2. […] November 2, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I found this today when I googled “Taping shoes on at daycare”. I just learned that my two-year old son’s daycare TAPES his shoes to his feet during nap time. Who takes a nap with shoes on??? I assumed they were taking off their shoes for nap time. Something about fire drills, safety, yada yada yada. Poor thing!!

    Ugh. This is makes my Monday even pissier.

    • lisasff says:

      I hadn’t even thought about Googling it. They taped your son’s shoes on for nap time? They haven’t done this, that we know about, for her older sister. That’s why I was so surprised? Bewildered? Concerned? Hubby didn’t ask this morning when he dropped the girls off, but I will ask about it when we pick them up. I’m hoping they just say her shoes kept slipping off and she then kept pulling her socks off. We put her back into the old shoes, so, we’ll see!

      But, Gah. Just let them be barefoot!

  4. […] November 2, 2012 […]

  5. […] November 2, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] November 2, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] it once I was done.  Most of the projects I’ve done really didn’t need blocking.  Stu’s scarf, the african flower baby blanket, for example.  I’ve never blocked anything as big as this […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

