Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 29, 2012

on October 29, 2012
Sleepy kittyWaiting for sleep#smellycat stinky #kittyHere #kitty kitty kitty #cat #eyesLick lick lick #animal #marchphotoadaysunshine
i need a new joba living footstoolpunctuationIMG_0902happiness is a sleeping babybabies
don't like sharingHum...  what does it smell like?You can't see meMy what big eyesClioClio's wisker
Picture 003Picture 115Deep thoughtsCat eyehum...Talk to the foot

Clio, a set on Flickr.

It was a dark and stormy night… No wait, it is, but this not that kind of post. This post is about my cat, Clio. Who passed away Saturday night, at the ripe old age of 18.

I knew she was getting older, she was having trouble hearing, jumping onto the bed, the counter. She didn’t want to play as much as she used to, but she’d still let her inner kitty out every now and then. Mostly, she just wanted to nap in a sunbeam, or on a pillow, maybe nestled in the crook of your arm. A lap cat of the snuggliest level.

I hadn’t wanted to take her in on Friday, hadn’t wanted to really accept that she was as close to the end as that. Hadn’t wanted to deal with that on the start of girls’ weekend. As I gently moved her from the sofa to the futon in the office, I told Stu that I would take her in on Monday. Today.

She passed Saturday night. Peacefully. Stu said that she hadn’t done well during the day. She fell asleep while eating, and he carried her to the office to let her finish her nap on the futon. Later, he put a towel on the bed and let her sleep there, in my spot while I was away. Around 1am, he told me, she started running in her sleep. He put a hand on her, to try to calm her down, and she let out a deep sigh. After that, he kept petting her and she looked at him, slowly loosing focus. And then she was gone.

I was hoping it wouldn’t happen while I was gone, but I’m sort of glad it did. That I didn’t need to take her to a vet, have them tell me that there was nothing to do.

The girls know, understand as much as they can. Teagan asked if we could now have a dog.

The house is a bit too quiet now.

Via Flickr:
Flickr pictures of Clio…

4 responses to “October 29, 2012

  1. Kate says:

    Oh I’m so sorry! Hugs. You know I was there recently. We do have The Tenth Good Thing About Barney if t has questions, or if it would help her talk if she needs to, though it seems she may have a puppy agenda ;) G continues to ask questions. Sometimes it breaks me.

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks! We still haven’t gotten everything put away yet :( and some things bring it back… a sneaker in the washer sounds like Clio thumping down the stairs… Putting an empty bowl of cereal down waiting for her to come finish any milk there may be…

  2. Kat says:

    Oh, hon…so sorry for your loss. I know family pets are just that ‘family’. I hope that you will continue to have fond memories of Clio and that the girls will too as they grow older and see the photos you have of the happy times with the cat. I think it’s cute that Teagan wants a dog…not another cat. Guess she wants to see the differences?? Bless her heart. Hopefully, this trauma of losing Clio will hurt less each day for you. {{{{hugs}}}}

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks. Night time, when the girls are asleep, is harder. She used to snuggle up to me in the relative quiet of the night house, watch tv with me, sleep next to me. Also, begging for some ice cream, and pouncing on the bowl as I put it on the floor after I was done.

      Oh well.

Please Share Your Thoughts

