Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 26, 2012

on October 26, 2012
20121026-111446.jpg

Moarh?

Look at these little cuties!  I’m leaving them both today.  They’re going to stay home with their dad while I go and reconnect with some good friends.  Dad has lots of activities planned to give them a good time and tire them out so they sleep.

Talking with Stu, we realized that I had left Teagan alone with her daddy when she was about 14 months, and we had left her with her grandparents while we went away when she was 16 months.  Ashlin is now 18 months, and I really haven’t left her for more than a few hours.  No, wait, there was that time when she was around 15 months when I went home early for my friends wake.  Still.

I know they’ll all be fine.  Stu is more than capable, even though Teagan’s been very “challenging” now, and Ashlin still doesn’t sleep well.  Doesn’t sleep long enough, late enough.  Teagan, on the other hand, has been disruptive  disrespectful and generally an annoying preschooler pushing her boundaries.  She was put to bed early last night, after two “naughty” notes in a row.  Dinner, teeth, one book and bed.  She ended up sleeping around 11 hours straight, more than she has in the past few nights.  So, maybe some of it is her being tired, she doesn’t nap well – again! – at day care, and she’s dropped her second nap on weekends.

Although I know I’ll miss my girls, my man, I’m really looking forward to this weekend.  I hadn’t realized quite how much the other girls – moms all – would need this girls weekend.  How much they need the time away, to appreciate what they have.  It’ll be great to hang out with my friends, see an area of New England I’m not very familiar with, and recharge.  To come home in a better state of mind, to be a better mom.

When I get back, I’ll get up the pictures, the entry, for the second crocheted amigurumi…

7 responses to “October 26, 2012

  1. Kat says:

    Have a wonderful time…..and don’t ‘worry’. Stu and the girls will have a blast.

    • lisasff says:

      Stu totally rocked the weekend! He did great! We had fun too, though kept checking in on the weather :D

      • Kat says:

        Glad you had some r&r with your girlfriends. We moms always think that dads can’t cope…when in reality they sometimes (and I say sometimes) do it better than we do. :-)

        • lisasff says:

          Oh, I knew he’d be ok! I just wasn’t sure how well everyone would be on the other side… If I was going to be alone for a full weekend, I probably would have gone to my parents. With their sleeping patterns now, I totally need a nap, so my parents would help with that :D

          • Kat says:

            It’s nice to know you have a ‘backup’ plan. Having grandparents close by is always a plus. :-)

            • lisasff says:

              Oh, I know how tiring they are! Totally have a back-up plan! I wish the grandparents were closer, but they’re not too far, and they LOVE helping with the girls!

  2. […] October 26, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

