Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 19, 2012

on October 19, 2012

Girls in #crochet #hatI’m not sure if anyone has noticed the girls hats…  the crocheted hats?  The hats I made?  I made them!!  I relearned how to crochet, and then how to actually do more than just single crochet a blanket, and maybe do a chevron pattern.

A few ladies at the office encouraged, well, pushed and prodded more like, to start up again once they learned that I wanted to make a few baby blankets for my expecting friends.  Over lunch times, they helped me, showed me step by step how to make a chain, turn, then single and double crochet stitches. You Tube has some lovely videos that helped as well – with left-handed crocheters!  I used the goal of making Teagan a scarf and hat set to learn.  Then Ashlin needed a hat for her ginormous head.

Teagan’s scarf:
Fringe for a little princess

I did a simple fringe on hers, as she is absolutely guaranteed to play with it.

And her hat:
#hat is done!  #crochet

She has pulled the ears a bit, and it’s getting out of shape.   I am glad I didn’t do too much embellishment on it, as I’m not sure it will last the season.  Oh, well, I can always make her another.

Ashlin’s hat:
Ash's #hat #crochet

I loved the curly tops on this pattern. I needed to adapt it a bit, embiggen it, as the only pattern I could find was for a newborn.  My Little Miss and her big head can fit in her sister’s hats. Also, all childrens (and some adult) hats need ears of some sort.

Ashlin wasn’t convinced at first:
No #crochet #hat!  Ash doesn't like it :(

But eventually she changed her mind, and won’t leave home or day care with out it!
Chillin' with my #hat and beep beep!

12 responses to “October 19, 2012

  1. Wendy says:

    Wendy B* S* commented on your post.

    Wendy wrote: “Nice job!”

  2. […] October 19, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  3. The hats are lovely but it’s the gorgeous girlies that really sell them to me, so cute. Where did you get the pattern?

  4. Kat says:

    Ok…you’ve been busy for sure. I love the hats. You did a stellar job and the ’embiggin’ one as well. I’m partial to crocheted items since my mom could crochet so well. I still have a ‘suit’ (jacket & skirt) she did for me 47 years ago and it looks like the day she finished it. As well as a bedspread, dolies, etc. Such a great memory. The girls will adore their scarves and hats and maybe be able to keep one for future memories of their wonderful mom. <3

    • lisasff says:

      Very busy, indeed!

      I can’t imagine making a suit! That must be beautiful!

      I’m working on a blanket for Miss Tea now… it’s very relaxing.

  5. […] October 19, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] October 19, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] October 19, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] October 19, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

