Whatever!

What to muse about today?

August 10, 2012

on August 10, 2012

20120810-203235.jpgOh, wow.  I thought when we moved, I had gotten rid of all the miscellaneous papers and stuff from college.  I guess I was wrong.  Today, I found the Student Directory, with ads from the paleolithic era, back when I went to school.  Too many of the places advertised are no longer there, but one favorite still is.

I also love how they had a drunk driving spot in the Directory, when most of the campus did not have a car.  With most of the best parties on campus – Milkshake night! – why would you need to drive?  A stumble home was all you needed.  And even if you went off campus, most places were a quick walk up High Street.

I remember loving the radio station while in college.  Most of the student shows played music that I would never hear at home, well, except occasionally on WDST, and at weird times of day.  Music was good in high school, but it was amazing in college.  Violent Femmes, REM, INXS, The Smiths, The Cure.  The English Beat, U2 and Depeche Mode were already on my mix tapes.   (Oh, yes, that Chevy commercial with Spandau Ballet cracks me up.  That happens.  You don’t turn off Spandau Ballet).

Tucked in the back of the drawer that the Directory was in were my home-made flash cards for what I call my one elective – Greek & Roman Mythology.  It was an 8am Tuesday-Thursday class, that I took my senior year.  Yes. By choice.  I loved it.  I think it was my one 4.0 class.  I had goldfish named Agamemnon and Clytemnestra, cats named Phoebe and Clio.

It was a nice little trip down memory lane…

Mythology Notes

Chiron, Achilles, Eris

Greek mythology notes

Heracles and Apollo

6 responses to “August 10, 2012

  1. Kat says:

    Yep, nice to remember the ‘good times’….but 8am?? Greek & Roman Mythology??? Glad it was you, not me. I loved the See Dick.,,, poster. and about the music…only ones that I even recognize is INXS and REM….of course, I’m at least two? generations from that…. :-)

    • lisasff says:

      Oh, I’m sure you know U2, as well…The Joshua Tree came out that year, with the song “With or Without You” and “Where the Streets Have No Name”.. more recently “Vertigo” and “All Because of You.”

      It was a trip to flip through the directory. I’m sure they don’t make them any more, or, if they do, it’s all electronic.

      • Kat says:

        I know the name U2…but the music? not so much. :-) But that’s ok; if it’s got a beat, I’ll dance to it. And some of the music that we do our Jazzercise to is definitely 80/90’s music that I’ve NEVER heard.

  2. Kris A says:

    OMG..did you bring back memories!!! I remember how much you loved the radio station..after rooming with you, I learned about a lot of music groups I’d never heard of. I also remember that we all thought you were nuts with the 8am class, but you got up and did it! But then again, i was fool enough to student teach second semester senior year and I missed out on all the fun because I was up so early for school and had hours of work every night. Well, I didn’t miss all the fun…the walk back from the G-Man was epic!!!

    • lisasff says:

      I half giggled when I pulled it out. Stu didn’t quite get what it was, he got stuck on file directories. LOL. And, yeah, I really loved the college station, it was one of the first radio stations I found driving down, not realizing what it was. There was NOTHING on the air down there, other than some country stations :D

      And the class was killer, but so fun. T-TH classes, were what? Three hours long? With an 8am start, it was a very crazy choice, but it *was* a choice, one of the few that I had with the double/nearly-triple major track I had.

      And, no, you didn’t miss *all* the fun. We still dragged you out a few times. And LOL! That walk home, or was it a traipse? A dance? A stumble? LOL.

Please Share Your Thoughts

