Whatever!

What to muse about today?

August 1, 2012 ~ Dinner

on August 1, 2012

20120801-222448.jpgTonight I made a recipe I saw on Rachael Ray’s show the other day.  I had all the ingredients, except for one, which is a bonus.  We picked it up last night on the way home from day care.  And well, it had cheese, which is always a winning ingredient for me.

The Taco Cake was very easy.  I did a few slight changes and a substitution.  I used a blend of cheddar and Swiss cheeses, as that’s what was in the fridge just waiting to be used up.  Also, I swapped out the refried beans for the  mashed black bean soup I usually make.  The bean puree, I made a bit thicker than normal, to more closely resemble refried bean consistency.

I was able to get the two main parts done over the course of the day, five minutes here, 10 minutes there, so all the parts were ready to put together after the working day was done, before I had to leave to get the girls. A quick 10 minute bake and then I pulled it from the oven to let it set while I picked the girls up.

20120801-222455.jpgI removed the spring form to serve, and it oozed out.  For some reason, it hadn’t set enough, it was too wet.  It may also have been a bit too warm still.  After sitting on the counter, waiting for Stu to get home, it seemed to firm up and I was able to cut two nice slices for us for dinner.

One of the girls loved it, the other, not so much.  Ashlin ate her portion as well as most of Teagan’s.  Teagan had a few of the corn chips I served hers with, for dipping and scooping, but barely even tasted the cake.

I had also made a Date and Honey smoothie, and that both girls loved.  Teagan kept calling it soda.   Ashlin did an awesome job drinking hers from an open cup!

You lookin' at me?

3 responses to “August 1, 2012 ~ Dinner

  1. Kat says:

    Ummmmy….this does sound good. I love ‘taco’ anything :-). And look at Ashlin!!! Drinking from a ‘big girl’ cup. Yah.

    • lisasff says:

      She was so excited to be using the big girl cup. We’ll keep trying but man, it’s so much easier with a sippy cup!

  2. […] August 1, 2012 ~ Dinner (lisasff.wordpress.com) Sharing is good:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterFacebookPinterestTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

