Whatever!

What to muse about today?

July 6, 2012

on July 6, 2012

20120706-202343.jpg

20120706-202417.jpg

I spent the afternoon in the yard. Pulling out green things.  Cutting others back.  Draping some, tying others.  I don’t have a very good before and after picture.  The left is one I took before I started everything.  The right, after most of the trimming.

I reshaped three barberry (I hate barberry), two rhododendrons, one mountain laurel, one tea rose.  The wisteria was cut back and re-positioned.  Most of the poison ivy is out.  Most.  I still have some work to do on the cranberry bush and the sand cherries.  Then to finish off the golden spirea on the left and the butterfly bush on the right.  Reset the pavers on the right side of the path.  Start thinning out the canadensis, self heal (prunella), cat mint (which needs to be propped somehow!), rudbeckia, and the cinquefoil.

Supposedly there are some plants that have been over taken – irish, thrift, lily of the valley, lavender and some betonys.  I know there’s summer phlox and a hibiscus.  Somewhere.  Maybe when I get some of the thinning done, now that the poison ivy is out, I’ll find them.

Then I have to identify one plant.  I have no idea what it is, and it wasn’t in the book the previous owner passed along.  Yes, he had a book that maps out his garden.  So helpful!

Oh, and the sunflowers are about one hand high!  Growing so fast!

20120706-202410.jpg

11 responses to “July 6, 2012

  1. I can’t believe how fast those sunflowers have come up. And I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award! http://chickennuggetsandelmo.com/2012/07/07/the-sunshine-award/

  2. Kat says:

    Wow….nice plants!! And you found your fence again. The map of the flowers was a nice thing to pass along. I have trouble identifying plants/flowers too. This looks amazing. And I’m, too, surprise at the growth of the sunflowers. waiting for that first flower!!!

    • lisasff says:

      Thank you! I did! It felt great when I was done. It had been a while since I had some nice dirt therapy. I have a lot more to do, though. Bit by bit I’ll get there.

      I was really excited to get the map and book he had done, with printouts about the plants he had put in. I haven’t really looked through it much until now, but knew it had a lot of information.

      As far as the sunflowers, Teagan keeps asking where the yellow flowers are. LOL! We’re weeks away from flowers, I’m sure!!

  3. […] July 6, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] July 6, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] few weeks ago I was nominated for the Sunshine Award by a fellow mommy who writes a blog I enjoy reading.  I […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

