Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 22, 2012

on June 22, 2012

It loud!

Teagan has decided that she does not like thunder now. At least not loud thunder. She didn’t used to be, but I guess she grew into it.

It was a bit rumbly as Teagan was eating dinner, and Stu was keeping her company, drawing. I had just gotten Ashlin down and came into their conversation about positive ground and negatively charged clouds and that’s what made all the ruckus. I shouted something about drums, but I’m not sure if it helped or not. Now that she knew how it happened, she really wasn’t sure she felt better about it.

There was  clash of thunder, and Teagan said she didn’t like it, that it was too loud.  Stu, trying to rationalize, said that it wasn’t that loud.  Of course, Teagan insisted it was, and was scary. Stu said that sometimes she was loud, but she wasn’t scary.  That helped a little.  Maybe.

I sat downstairs as they went on with the nightly routine. She was on the potty, feet on the stool, when a there was a huge clap of thunder, one that rattled the windows and shook the house. She jumped off and ran to her bed. She was past Stu before he could blink, wide eyed and shaking in her bed. He’s never seen her move so fast, mumbling something about a particle accelerator as he told me about it later. To be fair, it was a very loud and long peal of thunder, and even I jumped a bit downstairs.

stu talked her into going back to finish, but she would not be talked into brushing her teeth. she wanted to be in her room, in her bed.

stu got her into pj’s and said that her brobee doll was probably scared too, and she needed to be brave for him. she agreed.

he then asked if she wanted to be rocked. she did. he started singing one of her favorites “Rain rain.” she stopped him, “no, dada. not that song.” They then sang are you sleeping and started another, but before they got halfway, she asked to go to bed.  Stu tucked her in and told her that we’d all be safe in the morning.

 

7 responses to “June 22, 2012

  1. Kris A says:

    I’m 44 and I still hate thunderstorms!! I put on a brave face for the kids, but when they were little and would come running into our bed, I didn’t mind the extra snuggle!!

    • lisasff says:

      There’s nothing like that extra snuggle! I love thunderstorms… smell of the air, feel of the electricity. Yummy! Up until this storm, Teagan’s been fine with them. I wonder what changed to make her scared now…

  2. Kat says:

    My son was scared of t’storms too especially if high winds came with them. He saw a tree fall in a neighbors yard and then assumed that would happen in his yard, hence…he hated t’storms!! Don’t know that he’s ever grown out of it. :-) I don’t mind them most of the time…but when they are LOUD close by, then I cringe with each peal. Maybe while at daycare she experienced a t’storm where some other kids were scared??? Sounds like Stu has some great explanations and that may be all she needs to get by…..

    • lisasff says:

      I can understand why people are scared of them. There is such power and potential behind them. She woke up fine, almost as if she had totally forgotten there was a storm that scared her the night before. Teagan mentioned something about a tree down, and we needed to reassure her that we didn’t have any problems during the storm. I think she remembers the damage from the hurricane last summer. Two neighbors had trees down that she could see. Crazy what they do remember.

      • Kris A says:

        My fear stems from hurricane Agnes, 40 years ago! We had just movde to CT from the midwest and my mom had never experienced a hurricane. Our house was in the woods and she was scared a tree might fall on the house. I remember her fear and a huge tree did fall about 10 ft from the house, making it shake and plates actually fell in the china closet. It made a huge impression on me. (that and almost being in a tornado while working at an amusement park in IL when I was 18!!)

        • lisasff says:

          I forgot you lived in CT!

          I don’t remember Agnes, but I can only imagine being that young and going through a hurricane! We tried to be cool and calm during the one last summer, while stranded at my parents house. Teagan was amazed at the destruction afterward, but didn’t really make a connection between the wind and the tree being down. Thankfully!

  3. […] June 22, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

