Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 14, 2012

on June 14, 2012

20120614-195314.jpg

Poison ivy sucks. Although I’ve been super-exposed before, I’ve never actually had the itchy rash before.  Somehow, I was always able to wash the urushiol oil off fast enough.  Before the rash started.

This time, I wasn’t so lucky.  Scratch.

We have a ton of poison ivy in our yard.  With the babies (yes, my preschooler is still a baby!) around, I wanted to try to get as much of it out of  the heavier traveled areas.  I even pulled out (or so I thought!) a rosebush from the front flower bed because of it.  Thankfully, the rose grew back.

This year, I’ve hit three or four spots in the yard that Teagan continually wanders into.  Not all of it can be sprayed with poison ivy killer.  So, it’s been fifteen, maybe twenty minutes of pulling poison ivy vines out followed by a thorough wash and then shower.  Lucky for me, no rash, no itch.

Last week, I lost track of time, and must have been weeding much longer.  Too long.  The wash and shower trick didn’t work this time.  Five days later, I’m itching to high heaven.  Both forearms have been itchy, horribly itchy, for a week now.  Sometimes I think it’s not getting any better, just more itchy.  Then I see my wrist, and can see that it is going down, better.  Less itchy. Two days ago, I was very close to calling the doctor to see if I could get a steroid, or something, anything, to help.  Now, I think I may be through the worst of it.  Thankfully.

Unfortunately, there is still more poison ivy to pull.  I’ll just be sure to have long sleeves on.  And set a timer.

7 responses to “June 14, 2012

  1. Do you wear gloves?

    I have had poison ivy many times in my life and it is never fun. I have been lucky in my adulthood, but probably just because I don’t spend as much time running/jumping/climbing trees as I did when I was a kid, and I live in the city right now. Hopefully I can keep an eye out and protect Simon, but if we buy a house with enough land like we want, we might have to tango with some of the stuff.

    Hope you feel better/less itchy soon! I know how much that sucks!

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks! I hope it’s better soon too! It’s just oh so itchy!! And so hard to not scratch. Crazy itchy.

      I do try to wear gloves when I go out, especially if it’s some sort of nasty weed to pull.

      • Kris A says:

        Donn’t they make a spray that stops the oil from getting on you? It might be worth hiring someone to come yank it all out around the house. Then you can maintain it and yank it as soon as you see it.

        • lisasff says:

          Kris, there are all kinds of things for poison ivy. I thought I was ok, by washing my arms with soap first then showering.

          I had thought about getting someone to come, and may still. I’ve been trying to pick away at the weeds and overgrown bushes bit by bit… I’m not sure if we could really afford someone to come and do a good “spring clean” on the yard. The bits that are on the edge of the woods, I have no problem using the spray on, I’m sure that it won’t kill the trees, and any other green stuff it does get is just ground cover/brush anyway. I’ll be going around today, probably to spray the perimeter. There’s some behind the fishpond that I’ll put on a long sleeve shirt and gloves to get. That may get it all. Hopefully, it will.

  2. Kat says:

    Just be sure to wash the clothes immediately as well and preferably not with other things. Never can tell when it might not wash away…..I hated when I was a kid and got that stuff….I was pink for weeks. :=) Mother used Calimine lotion on it and it did the job of stopping the itch, but I looked like somebody’s bubble gum exploded on me. HA HA…

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, well, the clothes did get washed, but Stu and I usually have them in the same load… hopefully we won’t have any “cross contamination” this time.

      I HATED calamine lotion. My mom used that too, though thankfully, I never had poison ivy growing up, just massive bug bites.

      I do have some Ivarest something or other that I use at night that has the same pink stuff calamine had. It works great. I do have something else for day time/work days :)

  3. […] June 14, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) Sharing is good:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterFacebookPinterestTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

