Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 12, 2012 ~ End Of An Era

on June 12, 2012

Bottles and stuff

Today I took the last (well all but one!) of Ashlin’s bottles out of the kitchen.  I’ll pack them up for sale or donation soon.  Or even re-purposing – this site had an awesome idea to store spices in the small ones.

It’s a bit of counter real estate that’s been reclaimed.  The nipple and ring dishwasher tool, the strainer I would dry the bottles in neck down.  We didn’t get one of the fancy bottle trees, the strainer worked just fine.  There’s a little less clutter and chaos in the kitchen now.

It’s a big milestone.  The baby doesn’t need bottles any more.  Well, except when she wakes up in the middle of the night and will be satiated with a bottle of water.  But except for that one little bit of baby, she’s growing up.

It’s melancholy, but so full of promise and excitement, at the same.

4 responses to “June 12, 2012 ~ End Of An Era

  1. Leanna says:

    Leanna Marie K*-M* commented on your post.

    Leanna wrote: “I suggest they go to a women’s shelter. Women show up in the middle of the night with kids in PJs all the time, unable to even grab a diaper bag. They’re in urgent need of things like bottles, formula, diapers, all things kid, especially stuffed toys, since they often go with the kids.”

    • lisasff says:

      Leanna, that’s a great idea. Not sure if there is a shelter close, but I will look around, I think the doctor’s office has a flyer or would know if I called.

      I haven’t purged the toys yet, but I will keep that in mind too.

      • Leanna says:

        Leanna wrote: “The police department knows for sure, and you can ask them about how to donate. These locations are most often kept confidential, for the safety of the clients. This is a cause close to my heart, having spent three weeks in one at the end of my first marriage.”

        • lisasff says:

          Oh, thanks! I’ll remember that, if I can’t find anything. Shelters are so needed, more than we realize.

Please Share Your Thoughts

