Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 9, 2012

on June 9, 2012

Yum!

The strawberries are early this year.  Thank you warm winter.  Picking season started last week for strawberries.  We went today, even with the light rain, met some friends and had a lot of fun.  We didn’t allow the rain to keep us away.

We haven’t taken Teagan, or Ashlin for that matter, picking berries before.  I’m not sure why we haven’t, though usually we’re running around with one thing or another.  I also like making jam so there’d be a use for all the berries I remember coming home with when I went picking as a young girl.  I’m not brave enough to seal the jam with wax, like my mom did, but canning can be fun.  Hearing the lids pop is such a wonderful sound.

Unfortunately, there weren’t that many berries today, not quite enough to can, but enough for some yummy breakfast/lunch/snack/dessert for us a few days.

Teagan needed a little coaching, (only pick the red ones), but she ended up doing a great job.  Stu ended up picking more than I did, but I blame Ash.  We let her walk around and I needed to be keep pulling her away from the green berries.  She didn’t understand why they wouldn’t be good to eat straight from the runner.  She also wanted to pick rocks and straw, which don’t taste as good as a strawberry picked 10 seconds ago, warm from the sun.

Both girls ate their weight in strawberries today.

I think you have something on your chin

You’ve got red on ya

6 responses to “June 9, 2012

  1. Kat says:

    Such a fun thing to do as a family. They looked like they truly enjoyed the outing.

    • lisasff says:

      We all really did, even Stu, who doesn’t like strawberries!

      We will be going out for blueberries and apples! Maybe corn too, if I feel inspired.

      • Kat says:

        The blueberries should make interesting pictures too….Do you can/jam any of the berries? and/or corn? I’m so not into that. I love corn on the cob, and buy only what we eat, usually that nite.

        • lisasff says:

          Yeah, I’m looking forward to purple stained faces and fingers. We will not be wearing new outfits that day!

          I have canned the past two summers – Strawberry and mixed berries along with peaches, and then just Strawberry with berries. This year, I do want to do some jam, if only blueberry, as we were a bit late for strawberries this year. And maybe some corn, pears or apples… It’s always nice to be able to grab a jar and have fresh, and know what’s in it… so, I don’t mind a little bit of hassle making/canning it.

          • Kat says:

            You make me tired just reading this. HA. I canned some fig perserves one year and some grape jelly…but since then (about 20 years ago) haven’t done any. I did enjoy eating those for the very reason you stated…I KNEW what was in it. However, I’m lazy these days and my favorite market does it for me. :-)

            • lisasff says:

              But you have an “almost homemade” option, that you like and trust.

              I’m sure it would make for a busy day, but worth it. And I am not inspired to even attempt a jelly, jams and preserves are easy :D The corn? I may just freeze and not can, but I am doing corn this year.

              I figure, this way I won’t feel like we can’t go picking fresh fruits, and miss that opportunity. If I can, it won’t go to waste if we get too much of something.

Please Share Your Thoughts

