Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 8, 2012 ~ Belated

on June 8, 2012

So, I started this post last night, but never got to finish.  Instead, I fell asleep.  Even though Ash is sleeping better, I’m still catching up.

Sleeping Beauty

Ashlin seems to have turned a corner as far as sleeping through the night goes.  She’ll sleep now for most of the night – 10 hours!! OMG! –  for four or five nights.  The other nights she’ll be up once around 9pm and again around midnight.  Also, there seems to be an alarm that wakes her every morning around 6am, but most days she’ll go back to sleep, after a little bit of a crying protest.  Some days, like yesterday, she’s up at stupid early.  Too early.

Still, she’s so much better than she was, even just a  month ago.  It’s not always easy adjusting to a few good nights of sleep and then an interrupted night, but we’re finally getting there.  I knew we would, it was just a matter of time.  Ashlin needed to get to the right point, a point where her tummy was full enough, or she wasn’t sick or teething, a point where she wasn’t waking up thirsty and unsure how to go back to sleep.  And it seems that she has done it.  Finally.

Sleep is a wonderful thing.

Goose Egg

Goose eggs, on the other hand, are not.

She came home from day care with this lovely egg.  It was an impressive bump and bruise.  The teacher said that she tripped over her feet or something, and fell onto the toy box.  Shame on those pesky feet for getting in the way!

8 responses to “June 8, 2012 ~ Belated

  1. Kat says:

    owey!!! That doesn’t look good. Hope she is doing much better. Did the daycare call you when that happened or waited until you picked her up???? And the teacher should be more watchful….feet or something??? I know you and Stu are great parents and she’s well taken care of, but sometimes have to put in my 2 cents grandma worth of advice or questions. HAHA. Poor baby…..oh & yeah, sleep is wonderful, and there will be years you’ll have just enough and then you get OLD and have to get up too many times during the nite AGAIN…only for you this time, not the kids. :-)

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, it’s still a lovely goose-egg… though it does look a bit better today. Day care didn’t call us, they told us on pick-up. Most times, it’s not a problem, as it’s only a small scrape or bump. This time, I think I may have wanted to know as soon as it happened.

      Please don’t torture me with stories of this sleep being a fleeting thing. At my age, and after the year I’ve had, I don’t think I can handle it :D

      • Kat says:

        Glad to see that she is doing fine. I would think this was a ‘call’ that should have been made at time of accident. Of course, they are suppose to be the ‘professionals’ but they are NOT the parents. As stated before, I know you and Stu watch them carefully, so I’m OK…really I am. :-)

        • lisasff says:

          Yeah, she’s doing great. It’s just a bit green now, almost completely gone.

          I might have made a comment about it if I was there at pick up, about why they didn’t call, but I wasn’t there. If it happens again, which I hope doesn’t, I will say something, whether I see her that day or the day after. IMO, it was more than the normal bump or scrape of a new and young toddler.

          • Kat says:

            Great!!! Now this grandma will shut up LOL

            • lisasff says:

              Oh, don’t ever shut up :D

              You and Kris made me realize how upset I actually was about not getting a call when it did happen – though 3pm is pretty close to pick up. I will call/say something the next time.

  2. Kris A says:

    I had the same thought…did they call you? That’s a nasty bump! We used to get a call for the slightest scrape. Was she acting OK after it, no vomiting or lethargy?

    • lisasff says:

      Kris, such a mom :D

      No, they didn’t call us, we found out at pick up. Not sure why they didn’t call, though most times they don’t, but it’s a small bump or cut. I think they did call a few times with Teagan… but I don’t think she had anything quite as “big” as this…

      She was acting ok when we picket her up, and they didn’t say anything about her acting out of ordinary after it happened. This morning and today she seemed just fine… I hadn’t even thought about possible concussion or anything.

      It is a bit smaller today… and doesn’t seem to bother her at all.

Please Share Your Thoughts

