Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 25, 2012

on April 25, 2012

Wanna hear a secret?  I watch Glee.  And I like it.  Well, most times, even though the writers are never consistent and they have a few story lines that they could have treated much better.  They have had a lot of chances to do a better thing, but haven’t taken enough.  But that’s fodder for a rant, and this isn’t going to be a rant.

I’m halfway through the Whitney tribute episode – last night was Girls Night Out.  Yay! And double yay for DVR’s! – and I am absolutely blown away by Kurt‘s rendition of  “I Have Nothing”.

I’m not a big Whitney fan, although her life, and death, made me sad.  I’m impressed that Chris Colfer, a guy, was able to pull the vocals of this song off.

I also enjoyed Blaine‘s version of “It Not Right But It’s Okay”.

I think the resolution of the storyline of Kurt cheating via text with Blaine was a bit too simplistic, too easy.  But it is a bubblegum show after all.  A normally fun guilty pleasure.

4 responses to “April 25, 2012

  1. Kris A says:

    I am guilty too. I watch with katie and it has provided some teachable moments and sparked some interesting discussions

    • lisasff says:

      See, I would think it would be a pretty interesting show to watch with a teenager… Once you get over how wrong the fake pregnancy was, and probably some of the other sex stuff…

      Nice to know I’m not alone though, even if I don’t have a teen-age daughter. Yet.

      Did you like how Kurt did Whitney?

  2. Lori says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “I am shocked you like Glee. : ) But impressed that you like it like I do. While Kurt’s range on that song was quite impressive, I think he started it off a bit too high. My favorite song so far was the girls rendition of the Roberta Flack song, “The first time…ever I saw your face”. Very moving. I have also seen the show about the making of Glee where they picked a few new additions to the cast this year.It is amazing to see how far they have come.”

    • lisasff says:

      Most episodes are a thin story around whatever songs they do that week. It’s just a showcase for the songs… and that’s kinda fun. I was just very impressed with the way they were able to performs Whitney’s songs… most of the other songs are just ok covers.

      If it matters, I’m enjoying Lost Girl very, very much.

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

