Whatever!

What to muse about today?

March 27, 2012

on March 27, 2012

On this morning’s drive to work AltNation played a new song (to them) by a new band (to them).  Disko Killers by Lowline.  Not a bad tune,  but not the ear worm of a few of the other songs they play in heavy rotation.  It reminded me of Simple Minds a lot, with a touch of the Cult.  Stu, on the other hand, thought it sounded like Garbage.  Made for an interesting conversation:

Stu:  Like Garbage, but not Courtney Love‘s band.  You remember that blond lady from Terminator:  Sarah Connor Chronicles, the one that owned the business from the future?  Her.  She’s the lead singer from Garbage.  It sounds like Garbage’s “Ready to Go” but if a man was the lead singer.

Me:  Oh, I can hear that now.

Neither of us could remember the name of Courtney’s band at the time.  This was in the morning, and I don’t think Stu had his morning tea, and I had not gotten too far down my cup of coffee.

Tee hee hee.

Sometimes it’s fun to car pool.

 

~~

Update:  The band was Republica, not Garbage.  Neither of us for that right.  Oops.  I guess we’re more tired than we realize.

2 responses to “March 27, 2012

  1. Stu says:

    I got the band wrong and, therefore, the lead singer wrong and although the lead singer of the band I thought it was did appear in Terminator the lead singer of Republica is probably not a killing machine from the future.

    What’s yet more embarrassing is that that lead singer of Republica is Saffron, who is the “singer” of one of my favourite all time dance tracks : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISgmJHY_0BE

    If you watch that, check out the keyboard guy in black – in 91 when that’s filmed my hair was probably identical to that… Misdentifying Saffron as Shirley Manson probably means I have to hand in my pork pie hat, whistle and giant white gloves.

    • lisasff says:

      I’ll blame the sleep deprivation…

      People did lots of weird things in the 90’s… Though you do need to find a picture of you with that hair!

Please Share Your Thoughts

