Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 27, 2012

on February 27, 2012

cough pocket

I am so tired of this damn cough. It won’t go away. I can’t take much to help it either. Honey cough drops are just about it. Anything else will impact supply, and that seems to be an issue. I can’t take the chance of anything diminishing it at all. Ashlin’s not ready to give up nursing yet. I’m not ready for her to give up nursing yet.

I am ready to stop coughing though.

I am also ready for Teagan and Stu to be over coughing.  Her cough has been hanging around almost a month now.  Every now and then she’ll get some honeyed homeopathic cough medicine, at night, when her cough gets bad and wakes  her up.  She is very good at using her cough pocket, though sometimes she forgets.

Stu’s cough has been around a while too. And, well, I know how annoying a lingering cough is.  And also, sometimes he wakes me up.

Ashlin has a little bit of a cough, but nothing like the rest of us.  Thankfully.  She’s had enough crap to deal with in the past month.

But back to me.  It’s not fair to have a twice over mom have a cough like this. For this long.  My bladder has had enough abuse and torture. Sigh.

Cough, cough, go away!

8 responses to “February 27, 2012

  1. Kris A says:

    Don’t let them go on too long. I’ve known 3 people this season who ended up with pneumonia that had lingering coughs.

    • lisasff says:

      I don’t think these are the types of coughs that turn into pneumonia… Though I wouldn’t be surprised. Mine is a tickle-type, with very little phlegm. Teagan’s seems to be worse at night, but isn’t much of anything during the day. I think Stu’s is like mine, but he hasn’t had his as long… and he can medicate, so can get some relief.

      We will be keeping an eye on them though…

      • Kris A says:

        I don’t know if asthma and allergies run in your family, but Thomas was diagnosed with ashtma due to a persistant night time cough. He was fine during the day but would cough all night and cough stuff did nothing. After about 6 weeks of this, I took him to the dr. Given that he had already had nasal allergies and eczema (and my family history of asthma) the dr. put him on a nebulizer for a few weeks. He said if it got better, it was asthma. It disappeared it 3 days. That’s how he ended up on Singular. Just a thought if it continues…..

        • lisasff says:

          Oh! Thanks! I hadn’t realized about that. We don’t really have a history of allergies or asthma. But this is lingering… and that in it’s own right could be concerning.

          We hadn’t been too worried yet, as all the nasty snotty germs are just running around day care. I don’t think there’s one kid that doesn’t have something icky.

  2. Ugh, I know what you mean! Chloe had a cough for about 4 weeks. It sucked! I brought her to the doctor about a week and a half into it and her lungs and ears were clear… Then she had her 2- year-old checkup a week and a half later. They were still clear, but she still had the cough. It can be a little nerve-wracking, but it will all clear up soon!

    • lisasff says:

      Coughs in little ones isn’t fun at all. I do like the Zarbee’s cough syrup though, honey based stuff. They didn’t have the nighttime out yet, but Teagan likes the regular one. If her cough goes on much longer, I may bring her in, just to be sure it’s ok.

  3. Barbara says:

    Barbara P* H* commented on your post.

    Barbara wrote: “I takes 2 weeks. And if you get the bacterial thing after, it takes 2 more. :-(“

Please Share Your Thoughts

