Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 4, 2012

on February 4, 2012

This goes dere

Teagan got to play with her light table today.  She didn’t have an accident all day today.  For three of the past five days, she’s been good as well.  Somehow, she won’t do consecutive days, but she’s really getting there.

She was quite funny with it too.  I put a bunch of the glass stones on the lid, and she was “what’s that?”  I explained that the light shone through, and made them look pretty.  That it was fun to look at things with the light shining through.  She thought it was fun, started moving the stones around, chattering as she did.

When I tried to put one of Ashlin’s see through chew toys on it, she got a bit upset, “no you do that mommy.  You can’t do that.”  (I love how she corrects herself now, sometimes, when she makes grammar mistakes).  Same response when I put her flower lei on it.  I see we’ll need to work on thinking outside of the box with her.  Heh.

So, a few suggestions from me, and she started arranging the stones into her picture.  All the blue on the top for the sky.  The small white ones started off as twinkle stars, but they became “the pile,”or something.  The red ones, including the gems, were the final twinkle stars.  The green stones got put at the bottom, for grass or a turtle, I’m not sure.

Teagan was having so much fun, she didn’t want to stop for dinner.  And she gave up all her books before bed so she could play just five minutes more.

Sky and twinkle stars and a turtle

I think the light table was a hit!

Ashlin is doing much better.  Her rash, though not gone, has faded quite a bit.  It’s still there, but a ghost of what it was.  Such a relief to have her doing better.  Though I do think her ears are beginning to really bother her.  We’ll be starting the Zithromycin (or whatever Z thing it is) tomorrow.

6 responses to “February 4, 2012

  1. Barbara says:

    Barbara N*R* commented on your post.

    Barbara wrote: “Yay! So glad she liked it! Funny too b/c Amelia played with ours for the first time today in a long time. I had been in the dollar store this afternoon and found a clear plastic “egg platter” for deviled-eggs….I thought Amelia would have fun sorting the colored stones in to the little cups. She was so excited when she woke up and saw it all set up! I put foam shapes on it for Charlotte to chew on so she wouldn’t feel left out but she just enjoyed banging on it. I will try to post pics tomorrow. :)”

    • lisasff says:

      I’m not sure if I could put an egg platter on mine. it’s not that big :) I make a quick one to see if Teagan would like it or not… but that’s a fun idea… I’m sure I could figure out a smaller version. That is, if I can eventually persuade her into putting something else other than the rocks on it! LOL!

      • Barbara says:

        Barbara wrote: “That is so funny that she didn’t want you to put anything on it! I have to say I’m impressed that she was sorting out a picture with the gems! Amelia doesn’t do any representative pictures yet…not even with crayons/markers/paints. It’s just one of those things she’s not ready for I guess.”

        • lisasff says:

          Well, Teagan’s are just scribbles… nothing that you could tell was anything… Somehow she knows what they are though…

  2. Becky says:

    Becky D* commented on your post.

    Becky wrote: “Where did you get that light table????”

    • lisasff says:

      Becky, I made it. Super easy. Tap lights in a storage tub. I used paper to block the sides, and a bit of wax paper on the lid to diffuse the light. I’ll probably go back and improve it, but it works for now :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

