Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 10, 2012

on January 10, 2012

Today, I took Christmas down and packed it away.   It’s always a sad day when Christmas gets taken down. I do like having the house all lit up, twinkling and sparkling with decorations.  Sigh.  They’re all down now.  Or, I think they are.  I’m sure I’ll find something I missed.

It always takes a few days to get all  (or some), of the decorations up. I never try to do it in one day, but spread it over a few days so it’s not annoying. Being in a new house, one that we didn’t really decorate before, I needed to get some more decorations. There’s so much more house to decorate!  And a toddler that is beginning to understand Christmas, and decorations, and magic.

She was sad to see that the magic was put away.  The drive home the past few weeks has been filled with trying to explain why she doesn’t see as many “candles” as she used to.  She wants them to be on all the time – even during the day.  So sweet.

So, I explained why people take them down, and why we didn’t until today.  That each holiday has different decorations, hearts for valentines, ghosts and bats for Halloween, turkeys and pumpkins for thanksgiving.  We took those down, even though they were fun.  Explaining that we can’t keep the “candles” and other Christmas decorations up all the time, or we loose the “special”, the wonder, the magic.

I’m not sure she understood.  She was sad when she saw the christmas tree wasn’t there any more.  But then she saw the candy penguin that someone gave me, and was happy again.

I miss the lights.  I miss the magic.

Is it Christmas yet?

Please Share Your Thoughts

