Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 20, 2011

on November 20, 2011

American Gothic

Today I took both girls shopping.  To a store.  Alone.  Again.  I know I can do it, but usually Stu and I split them up.  It’s just easier. Not needing to decide who gets to ride the cart, who gets carried or walks.  But today, I needed to go to the club store.  They have double wide shopping carts.  Carts that have two kid seats. So, I took both kids.

This was also Ashlin’s first time in a shopping cart, even though she sits up very well.  It’s not that we haven’t taken her to a store, but we’ve just kept her in the car seat and put it on the cart.  She sat up so well!!

The trip ended up being a bit longer than I thought, over an hour!  Ashlin sat up very well most of the time, only slouching towards the end, and at the check out.  Teagan was a good big sister, and when Ashlin started getting antsy, gave her some cheerios to distract her.

Cheerio?

I did sneak into a store on the way home, when they were both tired and hungry.  Ashlin was in her car seat while Teagan tried to sit under the small cart’s basket criss-cross-applesauce, but she was a bit too tall.  Teagan ended up walking along beside me, while I tried to steer the cart with one hand.  She was very good!  Thankfully, a clerk was helpful, she helped me find what I needed quickly, and held the door as we entered and left.

All in all, a good trip.  Both girls were wonderful, listened well, behaved like little humans and not the beasts they often masquerade as.  I’m not sure if I’ll go shopping with them often when not the club store, but I did reinforce, if only to myself, that I can do it.

I do hope its easier to shop when they get older.

My view most of the trip

4 responses to “November 20, 2011

  1. Wow I’m super impressed. Seriously! I don’t even like taking my ONE to the grocery store because I’m afraid of meltdowns… And it’s funny that this is your post today, because I did have such a meltdown yesterday trying to make a quick run to the grocery store. It’s my fault. She was tired and I knew it… Just one more example that I shouldn’t push her when she needs to go home and get ready for beddie-bye.

    • lisasff says:

      I wouldn’t be too impressed! LOL! There are times that I won’t go out with just the toddler, even though she’s pretty good, normally. If she’s hungry or tired then forget it, any trip out is a disaster that just hasn’t happened yet.

      My worst shopping trip with Teagan was a shoe shopping trip, and I needed to try shoes on her. She was tired, didn’t want to be out, and fell in love with a very icky pair of sandals. I couldn’t get them off her, even to pay, which I so did NOT want to do. She was kicking and screaming on the floor. Ugh. Eventually, I did get the ugly shoes off her, a decent pair sized, and paid for.

      It is oh, so much easier going out with one. And one well rested one at that :D

  2. Kate says:

    In awe. Just simply in AWE. With the two of us we can barely manage G at a Target. He has been anti-cart for about a year now. IFF there is a car/cart we can maybe get 5 minutes, and then I get to drive the honkin SUV cart around *and* chase a toddler. These photos make me so jealous. Go you! For the millionth time I shall say, if I had a Teagan, I could think about having a second. (Um, also, if I had your patience/relaxed attitude my whole life would be different!) I know it’s certainly not a cakewalk but this is just so awesome.

    • lisasff says:

      Don’t be. We are lucky that Teagan will still allow us to contain her. Most times. But you’ve seen her when she does. NOT.WANT.to be in the stroller. If she’s rested, she’s always better. More pliable. Easier. And we make her nap. A lot. we much prefer her compliant :)

      She also believes me when I say I can’t push the cart with the car. For now, at least.

      Ashlin doesn’t know any better yet. it’s still all new for her. She is probably going to turn into a banshee.

      And by the time you have a second, G would be able to help. He’d be such a good big brother :D

Please Share Your Thoughts

