Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 21, 2011

on October 21, 2011

Sick? Me?

Does this look like a sick baby? No? The doctor didn’t think so either.

The fact that the peanut has only gained 3oz in just over two weeks helped her take me seriously.  (She should have gained about 10oz).  To be fair, she didn’t think I was making it up, just that Ashlin was in too good a mood, was too happy to have been, or to still be, sick.

So, her weight gain isn’t good.  Her vomiting episodes are not good.  The fact that there was yellow-green vomit at the end was definitely not good.  She doesn’t think it’s food related, or more specifically an allergy or intolerance.  The doctor threw out possible diagnoses of reflux, pyloric stenosis and malrotation.

I really don’t think it’s reflux, she vomits hours after eating/nursing, not immediately.  It smells like vomit, not spit up.  She’s not in pain from it, she’s more scared about what is happening.  She can’t hold her head up for about a minute while she’s throwing up, then all she wants is to snuggle close.  She wants to be held, not put down.

I don’t think the doctor thinks it’s reflux either.  The other two options she mentioned aren’t very exciting.  They both mean surgery.  I don’t want surgery for my little peanut.   But more than I don’t want that, I do want her to be happy, healthy.

So, we need to watch and document.  If she vomits again, then note down the time and frequency, as well as what I eat, for possible connections.  Look for anything that could be a cause.  We go back in just about 2 weeks.

8 responses to “October 21, 2011

  1. Lori says:

    Lori G* commented on your post

    Lori wrote: “Ohhhhhh… Big hug to you, sweetie.”

  2. Kris A says:

    Sounds a bit scary. I’m glad the dr. took you seriously and has some things in mind. I hate when you go to the dr. and they have no ideas. I hope you are getting a few nights sleep. Could the fenugreek have anything to do with it? Her refusal to eat solid related to either condition the dr. mentioned? (or she could just be finicky!!)

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah. I not really happy with the options, though they aren’t definite yet… Thankfully. It would be nice to find out its a weird stomach bug, or that she’s been exposed to three or four different ones.

      I don’t think the fenugreek is a cause… I didn’t start it until last week, and any possible effects don’t include vomiting.

      I think that she’s just being difficult with the food. She did like the sweet potatoes, pears and the mum mums when she had the before… She’s going to be the difficult one, it seems.

      • Kris A says:

        Once my kids were rolling and sitting, both preferred their tummies, rears in the air.

        • lisasff says:

          I think it’s a kid thing. Teagan still sleeps this way. Silly girl. She puts herself sideways, short ways, in her crib, but in air. And she likes the blanket over her head.

  3. Mags says:

    Poor peanut. ;(

    Our doctors always say “what a healthy looking baby” when we walk in there, like it’s some kind of reassuring reflex.

    And GJ sleeps on her front, arse in the air, face buried in the mattress. Just likes it, no idea why.

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks. I just want to know what’s going on.

      And I do think it is supposed to be reassuring. We were always old how healthy and perfect Teagan was. Teagan, who also slept on her tummy, bum in the air starting from something like 8 months or so.

Please Share Your Thoughts

