Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 10, 2011

on October 10, 2011

Out and About

Today I was left with both girls.  Alone. All day.  Day care was closed!  Insert your standard Home Alone Culkin scream here.

So far, Stu and I haven’t left the other alone with both girls for more than a few hours.  We usually take one of them with us if we go out.  We have survived so far by always using a divide and conquer strategy.

It ended up not being anywhere near as bad as I thought.  Much better than the time I had to take both girls to the doctor and they both cried, although only one got shots.

We took it easy in the morning.  Breakfast for the girls, clandestine apple cider munchkins for me.  Books and kisses and fetched toys, with a side of Nick Jr. until nap time.  Ashlin always laughs when Teagan pulls faces.  Heck, she will laugh when Teagan simply looks at her.  She loves when her big sister brings her toys.  Teagan, so excited, is eager to oblige simple requests to bring her sister a new toy.

Before she went up for her nap, Teagan decided Ashlin needed to have her snuggle bear. Teagan, at first, was fine about the nap, but instead of actually napping, sang songs – Itsy Bitsy ‘pider, Twinkle twinkle, Rain Rain Go Away.  I love when she sings herself to sleep, or wakes up singing!

Anyway, Teagan wasn’t convinced she needed a nap, but a bit of convincing – and a little rocking – got her down.  Down she stayed for over an hour and a half!

I needed some paint for a craft project, so had to go out to get some.  I thought it would be a good good way to spend some of the time between naps, going out and then crafting a bit.  Shopping was successful.

After a quick afternoon nap, we got ready for the craft project.  Teagan got a kick out of helping me find paper, something to put the paint in.  She loved doing it too. And loved that I included Ashlin too.

The day was very good, up until around 5:00, when Teagan started breaking down.  And I started losing my patience.  Ashlin was over tired too, so she didn’t help much, unfortunately.  I would have liked to have a better ending to the day, but when I asked her, she said she would want to do it again.

I guess, that’s what really matters.

7 responses to “October 10, 2011

  1. Stu says:

    You did a great job!

    Next Columbus Day is mine… I’ll need a comfort bear, a teething ring and a security blanket. And probably something for the kids too.

  2. Kris A says:

    do you realize at the top of your post it says “t & a stories” My dirty little mind loved that! Glad you had a nice day with the girls.

    • lisasff says:

      Tee hee hee! Yes, Teagan & Ashlin Stories :) It’s a nice joke. LOL! We’ll be embarrassing them eventually with that.

  3. Kate says:

    Bravo. Seriously, wow. Next time both daycares are closed, let’s plan for playtime.

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks. I do wish I had ended the day in a better “mommy mood” than I had. But I did survive, and I’ll be better next time :)

      And playtime? Oh, Teagan would LOVE that… heck, we need to do that even when they aren’t both closed! :)

      Teagan does ask for G, to talk to him, to play with him, almost daily :)

  4. […] I took both girls shopping.  To a store.  Alone.  Again.  I know I can do it, but usually Stu and I split them up.  It’s just easier. Not needing […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

