Whatever!

What to muse about today?

September 8, 2011 ~ Day Care Update

on September 8, 2011

Around lunch time, I ended up calling day care to see how Ashlin was holding up.  (I was concerned about whether she took a bottle or not.  Really.  It wasn’t because I missed her.  Really).

Turns out that she was doing ok, though not having a spectacular start to her day care experience.  She did nap off and on most of the morning, in the swing and in her crib.  By the time that all the naps were over, it had been about 4 hours since Ashlin had last eaten, so she was a bit cranky.  They hadn’t wanted to wake her, as she was getting used to the new environment.  So, cranky baby who doesn’t really like bottles?  It didn’t go too well, she ended up taking 2oz over an hour, really making the instructor work for it.  I was pretty happy she took something.

When I walked in to pick her up, she was in the swing, crying.  According to the afternoon instructor, she had just started that minute.  A few minutes before she had been playing and smiling.  Ashlin loved their play-gym mat, and the excersaucer they have (theirs rocks too).  She also really enjoyed the swing.  They had tried to give the second bottle, but Ashlin didn’t want any of it, but was obviously hungry.  Poor baby.

I go get her sister and get home to nurse my baby.  Ashlin is obviously tired, as her nap schedule has been thrown off by the new place, new sounds, new people.  Today may not have been the best day to start her, as there were three instructors today, where usually there are only two.  They’re sure that next time, Ashlin will do better, not that she did all that badly today.  She will get used to taking bottles, and sleeping in a new place with new people and new sounds.

I’ll get used to it too.

14 responses to “September 8, 2011 ~ Day Care Update

  1. lisasff says:

    Ana Ri commented on your post.

    Ana said: “I bet she’ll be fine after a few days and it’s good it’s a short week for her. Hugs!!”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Thank you. I do hope so. It is very concerning, as you know, that she’s not really taking bottles. She only drank 60ml in the 7-8 hours that she was there. I know she’ll eventually be persuaded otherwise, but well…

    • lisasff says:

      Ana Ri said: “Believe me, I know exactly where you are coming from. It’s taken Lane a while, but he has steadily increased his intake at daycare. The Gerber Essentials was the one that finally worked FWIW, plus I put a hot water bottle (warmed) against his chest while he ate–totally did the trick!”

      *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      I may be trying that bottle and the hot water bottle trick if she’s still not taking bottles monday. I may try to dream feed her one bottle tonight or tomorrow, just to see how it goes, and to try to get her into the habit of actually taking them. I have a lovely heating pad and a moist heat pack… wonder if one of those would do the trick like the hot water bottle…

      • lisasff says:

        Ana Ri said: “Is she refusing the bottle outright or just struggling with it? Everyone kept telling me Lane was just being stubborn and that if he was hungry enough, he’d give in and eat. But when I watched him at the bottle, he wasn’t refusing it at first-he’d always try it, just couldn’t ever really get a good suction going. The Gerber bottle has a super small nipple (looks like a preemie bottle) and he was able to figure that out almost immediately. The hot water bottle seemed to relax him and give him something to squish (like he does when her nurses…lol). I’d try what you have at home first before getting a hot water bottle–the only reason I got that was because I was literally trying to recreate the boob experience–I was desperate at that point because it bothered me so much that he wasn’t gaining weight. KUP on how things go.”

        ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

        The few times I was around, It seemed more that she just doesn’t know what to do with it, then got frustrated. And cries. It very well could be a nipple issue. She didn’t have a problem when she was a few days/weeks old using the ones that come with the nursettes, or the medela ones. I got her some nipples that are like her pacifiers, that she likes now, but that didn’t help much either…

        I’ll send in bottles with both types of nipples, and see how she does tomorrow. If things seem better, than I won’t need to mess around too much. If it’s not, then we’ll have to try to find another solution.

  2. Kris A says:

    Hunger will eventually win out! Were there less tears today….both mom and baby?

    • lisasff says:

      Kris, I know it will eventually win out, but how long before she gives in? That’s the question… Don’t want her getting too dehydrated, or even too hungry to nurse once I do get there…

      She didn’t go in on Friday, but she will be there Monday… Fi Gershwin crossed she eats better then.

  3. Kris A says:

    What if Stu tried some bottles at home? I’m sure she’d never take one from you because you smell like milk, but maybe if you leave the house and he is willing to deal with a cranky little girl….

    • lisasff says:

      Stu has tried giving her a bottle, as has my mom… I was still in the house and that may have been the sticking point. We haven’t really tried with me out of the house… yet… She goes back in on Monday, so we’ll see how she does then… if she does better than we’ll just let it be. If not, then we’ll have to try with me out of the house, maybe different nipples and temperatures… I do know eventually she’ll give in, but until then, she’s a silly willful girl!

      • Stu says:

        We did try once with you out – on your girl’s night out.

        She groused for a while rather than eat, but then seemed to decide that you really weren’t around, so she went back to being happy, playing on her mat, but still not eating.

  4. Kris A says:

    Will she take something like diluted juice in a bottle? Maybe that would get her used to it and you could gradually try milk? Willful, strong personality..wonder where she gets that from!!! LOL Of course, my children get their stubborness from their daddy…….

    • lisasff says:

      We haven’t tried juice or anything else, yet, with her. She’s still only on breast milk, no food, and no water yet. She did just started tripod sitting, though doesn’t last for too long yet. Once she can sit a bit better unsupported we will start giving her solid food, so eventually, her not taking bottles will be less of an issue. She’ll be getting some nutrition and liquid in that way.

      Her complexion, she got that from me! The stubbornness, that *must* come from her dada… LOL!

  5. […] InformationChoosing Good Quality Child CareChoosing Quality Child CareHome Child CareYahoo! AnswersSeptember 8, 2011 ~ Day Care Update #header {text-align: center } #description { clear:both;text-align: center; […]

  6. […] September 8, 2011 ~ Day Care Update (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] September 8, 2011 ~ Day Care Update (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

