Whatever!

What to muse about today?

August 25, 2011

on August 25, 2011

I went to the dentist today.  Finally.  I’d been putting off finding a new (local) dentist.  And then I got pregnant, and just really didn’t want to deal with it, along with everything else.  And the blood thinners.  As nice as the former dentist was, I really didn’t want to sit in the car for a longish drive for a cleaning.  It would give me too much time to think about actually being at the dentist, and that is not necessarily a good thing.  (Although, I’d almost always be guaranteed a great lunch companion afterwards as a reward).  So, I wanted to find someone local. Until last week (I think) I hadn’t really been too concerned about it.  (Yes, we had been paying for twice yearly cleanings that we haven’t done.  I know, I know!)

Last week changed things.  Playing with Teagan, she knocked her hard little head into my jaw, and I was worried that I had chipped a tooth or broken a filling.  I couldn’t put it off much longer.

So, I finally get my act together and ask around, do a little googling.  A little more than closing my eyes and pointing at a name in the phone book.

Today was my appointment.  It went pretty well, actually.  I didn’t have the Ren & Stimpy root beaver nightmare, or the Little Shop Of Horrors scene go through my head.  I was relatively calm and not too anxious about the appointment.  Yay me!  I’m not over my fear, but it was something that wasn’t too bad.  Today anyway.

I had chipped a filling, two actually.  Top and bottom teeth, one right above the other.  The x-rays showed that there wasn’t any decay or other damage, so we’ll be able to just laser the surface a little and patch it.  Which sounds awesome to me.  Gums were also pretty good, considering that it’s been just over a year since my last cleaning.  No new cavities!  Double Yay!  And the crown is doing just fine.

The filling repair is early next week.  I’m not sure I’ll be as laisse-faire about this.  I may need the Valium the former dentist prescribed :)

~~

LOL!  Shut the front door!  They said “sheep dip” on the Mentalist tonight instead of saying something more rude.  Sheep dip!  What a Hoboken!

2 responses to “August 25, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    Kat O* W* commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “I’ve been fortunate in my selection of dentist with the exception of one who charged outrageously and told me I needed ‘more work’…which I didn’t….but after having the same dentist for 20+ years and having to change, I definitely had anxiety (insurance caused change) and then thank goodness for a friend who works for a dentist heard my woes and got me to her!!! She’s a gentle worker and very calming. I’m glad you survived without too much angst!! And good luck with the fillings. (I have a crown completion next week myself) :-)”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    I’ve never been good about going to the dentist, even when they gave you a toy for being good and not having a cavity. I was surprised that I didn’t have my normal nightmares – the dentist asked how I was doing, and I told her I hadn’t had the teeth falling out dream, so that was good. LOL!

    Getting a little anxious about Monday and the laser whatever they’re going to do with the broken fillings. She said I wouldn’t need Novocaine…

    • lisasff says:

      Kat wrote: “Take a deep breath and let it out eeeeaassssyyyy right before she starts. Helps relax ‘everything’ and think good thoughts (like what the kids are doing while you’re in the chair) or not HA HA…You’ll do fine. :-)”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      Tee hee hee! It went well… in and out in less than 30 minutes. Did NOT need the Valium, or gas. They were patient with me, when I asked them to stop, due to discomfort, they did. They offered to numb me up, but it really wasn’t that bad.

      Thankfully, Stu was home, so I left Ashlin with him… that did help too :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

